top of page

Peru 🇵🇪

Daniel, 24


Born in Lima, Peru


Came to Australia in March 2020























How did we meet?


I came across Daniel's story on an ABC News article and then found him on social media. I asked if it was okay to interview him and share his story and he was happy to oblige.


What is your occupation?


In my home country, I was working as an Environmental Consultant at a mining company in Peru.


After only a couple of weeks working as a forklift operator in Newcastle, the COVID-19 lockdown caused the warehouse company to shut down and I lost my job overnight.


I wasn’t able to find any jobs in Sydney and I came to Coffs Harbour about two months ago to work as a blueberry picker. I quit recently because I was underpaid and exploited; I was once only paid $30 for an 8-hour shift. The Indian and Chinese contractors get away with it because they only pay us depending on how many blueberries we pick. I met a few other Peruvians there and they are still working there to this day. They have no choice because they have to pay bills and rent - it’s so hard for us foreigners to find any jobs.


I’m currently working as a cleaner for ISS Facility Services cleaning and disinfecting primary schools. I love it because they’re actually paying me a working wage. Things are getting a little better and I can at least pay my rent now without any problems.


Why did you come to Australia?


In Peru, the salaries are so low and there is so much corruption, so I decided to leave in March to pursue new opportunities.


I was thinking of going to Canada to study but I couldn’t find a visa that also allowed me to work at the same time.


That’s why I applied to come to Australia, which offers a working holiday visa. I wanted to work as a forklift driver because I’d already worked as one in Peru. That lockdown period was truly a nightmare.


This is my first time overseas. It’s crazy, right?


What do you like about Sydney?


Because I couldn’t find any jobs, I ran out of money very quickly and had to live in my car in the carpark of Westfield Parramatta for about a month, surviving on only one meal a day.

At one stage, I was begging for food at Parramatta train station because I had absolutely no money. I went five days without eating anything at one stage - I’ve never felt such hunger or pain in my life.


Out of desperation, I went on Facebook and eventually found this charity called Addison Road Community Organisation and got in touch with them. I’m so grateful for them and this is how I was introduced to Craig Foster, who was volunteering there at the time. They honestly saved my life and I didn’t even know how famous he was until I went to his home and saw his poster with Pele.


On a completely different note, I can’t believe how beautiful Sydney is. It’s so organised compared to Peru and the people are generous. I’ve never seen such magnificent skyscrapers in my life - we don’t have them in my home country.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


Life in Sydney is very expensive. The rent is exorbitant compared to the $120 a week I am paying for a hostel room in Coffs Harbour.


When I was begging for food at the train station I wasn’t the only beggar there. A lot of people just ignored us because they assumed we were drug addicts- that’s my guess.


Sydney’s such a big city so owning a car is a must. Adding to that, the traffic is unbelievable and is similar to my country.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Be kinder and more generous to everyone else.


If someone’s begging you for food, at least give them a small bite to eat or some water. It’s literally a life or death situation.


What languages do you speak?


Spanish (native), English


Last year, I studied English diligently for an entire year because I wanted to leave my country and move overseas. I learnt by myself by watching shows like The Simpsons and action movies like Mission Impossible and John Wick. I sat the TOEFL exam last December and somehow got the required level to study at a university as well.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Que pasa causa?


It means 'what’s up?' or 'what’s going on?' Causa is a Peruvian potato casserole but is also slang for a good/close friend.


I also want to say Asu Mare, which is similar to ‘wow’ or ‘oh my god!’


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


The people are super friendly.


You can travel on a shoestring budget with just a little bit of money. The cost of living is much lower than in Australia. $1 can buy a kilogram of lemons. Can you imagine that?


There are a few places I would recommend you to travel to:

  • Macchu Picchu is an area where you can learn so much about Incan culture.

  • The beaches of Mancora are stunning.

Honestly, I would advise you to be a little careful when travelling around Peru because petty theft is quite common.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Paolo Guerrero


He’s the football captain of our national football team and the reason why we qualified for the Fifa World Cup in Russia 2018.


He’s getting old so he might retire this year.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Ceviche.


One thing I miss a lot is my country’s food, and in particular ceviche. My mum would use the freshest bonito and I would eat it for lunch every day back home. I still haven't gotten the chance to eat ceviche since coming to Australia so I'm dying for one.


There isn’t really a secret ingredient - all you need is love.

​

Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.


Kommentare


bottom of page