top of page

Chile 🇨🇱

Daniel, 26


Born in Valparaiso, Chile


Came to Australia in December 2000






















How did we meet?


I met Daniel when we both started working at NAB; we were part of the same orientation group.


What is your occupation?


I am a Servicing Banker at NAB. I hold a Bachelor of Economics from Western Sydney University.


Why did you come to Australia?


My father really valued education so one of the biggest things he’d say was he wouldn’t be able to put us through university if we stayed in Chile.

He basically wanted a better life and more opportunities for my 5 siblings and me.

My father failed 3 TOEFL tests but eventually, he got accepted to emigrate to Australia.


Half of my mum’s family were already residing in Sydney. My extended family was displaced because of the Pinochet dictatorship.


What do you like about Sydney?


One of the things I love most about Sydney is the freedom, safety and serenity.

I have the means to get whatever I want. Generally, people are very friendly.


At least where I’m from in central Chile, it’s a concrete jungle whereas Sydney is full of greenery and parks.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


People from Sydney can tend to get a bit snobby, I feel like they try too hard to be the shit. It comes off as inauthentic and unapproachable when you’re too flashy, I’m talking about luxury cars.


Why get so material over things? I mean, don’t get me wrong. I love my shoes as well but there’s no need to flaunt it off. At least in Western Sydney, we’re all of the same socioeconomic levels.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


In this time and age, just stay safe.

Practice social distancing and go get tested! Just because guidelines have been relaxed doesn’t mean you have to hold 100 people barbecues in your backyard.


What languages do you speak?


English, Spanish (native)


Sidenote: It’s Chilean Spanish, not to be confused with the other varieties of Spanish. Our Spanish is spoken very quickly and has a lot of slang that other Spanish speakers won’t understand. We definitely have a reputation for that.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


When my mum proves me wrong at something, she says

El diablo sabe más por viejo que por ser el diablo which means “The devil knows more for being old than for being the devil.”


It’s her way of saying that she’s wiser because of her experience and age.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Chile is one of the longest countries in the world, ranging from the Atacama desert in the north to greenery and Andes in the south.

Sometimes we may come off as unwelcoming or reserved, we love a good story and are very hospitable. If you go to Chile, go to the south for sure, Torres del Paine National Park.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Alexis Sanchez - football player. He now plays for Inter Milan.


He’s such a success story because he comes from an impoverished city called Tocopilla. To make it out of there and make such a name for himself is just amazing to see. Usually, famous Chileans are from Santiago.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Chileans are simplistic when it comes to food. My favourite dish is called bistec a lo pobre, which translates to steak the poor way.


It’s just steak, chips, fried onion and a fried egg. Man, I love that shit. Obviously, there are fancier dishes but I prefer the simpler things in life.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.


Comments


bottom of page