top of page

Colombia 🇨🇴

Camilo, 28


Born in Bogota, Colombia


Came to Australia in January 2017 and left in February 2020.






















How did we meet? We met spontaneously at the Japan Foundation library. Both of us are big fans of Japanese culture so we just started talking! We remain close to this day and I still try to call him once a month, even though he's back in Bogota.

What is your occupation? I studied a Certificate of Graphic Design and Diploma of IT and worked in many industries such as hospitality, events and warehouses. I also improved my English greatly in the first year after I came to Australia.


In Colombia, I studied electromagnetic engineering at Instituto Technico Central. I just recently quit a customer service role at Amynta Group. I was mainly helping North American customers with product warranties and I got tired of the job; it's also boring having to constantly apologise on the company's behalf. I am currently on the lookout for jobs in mechanical design, electrical design and automation.

Why did you come to Australia? It was my first trip overseas and I know it'd have been more convenient to choose the US or UK, but one of my school friends recommended that I come to Australia after his own great experiences living in Brisbane for two years.


I came to try to improve my English and also because Australia is close to Asia, my favourite travel destination.


Moreover, I wanted to travel overseas because you gain experiences wherever you travel and you also mature as a person.

What did you like about Sydney? I like the public transport and the convenience of being able to get whatever you wanted. In Bogota, people mainly rely on buses or private vehicles to get by. We don't have the luxury of choosing between several different forms of transportation. It is convenient to travel and I loved the beaches because, in Bogota where I come from, there aren’t any beaches. Obviously, the Opera House as well because I’m a huge fan of classical music. The views around Circular Quay and Darling Harbour are beautiful.

What didn’t you like about Sydney? One thing I noticed is that in Sydney, everyone seems to be in their own bubble. When I went to Brisbane, people seemed to be more thoughtful and caring for others. Maybe it’s because of my Latino culture but that’s what I've noticed.

Although I like the public transport system in Sydney in general, the punctuality of the buses does leave a little to be desired at times.

Also, this city is just for rich people. It’s so expensive! Rent and utilities like electricity were very expensive in my experience.

What would you like to say to Sydneysiders? My answer is related to the last question. Be more connected and look up from your phone! Talk to each other! I remember times where people were disgusted just because I was speaking Spanish on the train, some people even moved train carriages! Be more respectful and accepting of others! It happened many times, on the way to Chatswood and other different areas. I wasn’t even speaking loudly; it was just a normal conversation.

What languages do you speak? I speak English, Spanish (native) and I’m learning French. I speak a tiny bit of Japanese and German.

Teach us one word/phrase from your native language. Vecino - neighbour.

Even if you live in another town, you would just use this. You can go to any restaurant and they’ll address you by “vecino.”


Apapachar - to hug/cuddle


When you are really close to someone and hug them with all of your heart.

What is one thing you want us to know about your native country? Firstly, I want to highlight how varied Colombia's landscapes are. You can find deserts like La Tatacoa, beaches on tropical San Andres Island and snow-capped mountains like Nevado Del Ruiz. If you go to the east of Colombia, you can see Llanos Orientales (Eastern Plains). We also have a river called Caño Cristales, which is also known as the River of Five Colours. These are all untouched places that are just waiting to be explored.


Colombia is the kind of country where it's best to travel with a local. You can find people on Meetup.com, hostels, hotels or common tourist attractions like the Gold Museum in Bogota.

Who is the most famous person in your native country? Manuel Elkin Patarroyo


He is the creator of the first attempted synthetic vaccine against malaria.


Another famous Colombian is Gabriel Garcia Marquez, who was one of the most famous novelists in Hispanic literature. Some of his most famous works include One Hundred Years of Solitude and The Autumn of the Patriarch.


I could easily have chosen people like Shakira or Sofia Vergara, but I've chosen people who are the most famous people in Colombia, as opposed to Colombians who made their name overseas.

What is the best dish in your native country? Arepa - cornmeal cakes that include chicken, cheese, avocado, tomatoes.

You can have it for any meal of the day and it’s also incredibly versatile- you can add whatever ingredients you want. The best ones are in Colombia, not Venezuela!


Cazuela de Mariscos is a famous seafood stew and a typical breakfast is tamale, which has quite a few differences from the Mexican counterpart.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.

Comments


bottom of page