top of page

USA 🇺🇸

Kayla, 25


Born in San Antonio, Texas, United States


Came to Australia in July 2016




























How did we meet?


Kayla and I were colleagues at SUEZ.


What is your occupation?


I am an Executive Assistant to Finance & Development at Suez Australia & New Zealand. I started off as a receptionist at Suez. I studied Environmental Science at Loyola University in Chicago.


Why did you come to Australia?


I’ve always been really interested in Australia. I went to study at Griffith University on the Gold Coast for my study abroad program and I loved it so much, the beaches, the laidback lifestyle, the entire package.


After graduating from college, I applied for a working holiday visa to come back and haven’t looked back since!


What do you like about Sydney?


I love the climate here, especially compared to Chicago, where it gets so cold and windy. They don’t call it the ‘Windy City’ for nothing. I love how it doesn’t snow here; it gets tiring shovelling snow off your car.


One of my passions is rock climbing so it’s very convenient for me to go to nature hotspots like Nowra, the Blue Mountains on the weekend.


It’s very safe here compared to Chicago, where I carried a taser and pepper spray for my own protection.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


It’s expensive, especially rent, food and alcohol. In the US, you can spend $20 on a case of beer at a gas station whereas I would spend at least $50 here.


The positives outweigh the negatives in Sydney. You can nitpick more and say public transport isn’t great but it’s so clean here. You don’t have to worry about the trains smelling like piss like in Chicago.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Thank you for being so welcoming to me, an outsider. Hopefully, you can extend the welcomeness to everyone who comes and lives here!


Just because I’m an American doesn’t mean that I support Trump; I got asked this all the time when I first arrived here.


What languages do you speak?


English.


I can speak a bit of Spanish; I took it in high school and college. I would love to travel to Europe someday so I’ll brush up on it then.

Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Y’all.


It’s a Southern word and is basically short for “You all” or “You guys.”


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


America is incredibly diverse; each state is like its own little country.


If you’re going to visit, check out the major cities but also be sure to experience nature like the Sierra Mountains in California, the national parks like Yosemite, Yellowstone, Zion.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


There are so many famous people! I guess I'll narrow it down to a few categories.


Sports- Michael Jordan.


Entertainment- Oprah.


Politics- Barack Obama.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Texas BBQ.


Smoked brisket with pickles and BBQ sauce on a piece of white bread. Sides of green beans and mac n cheese. This is my dream meal.


You have to get it at a rodeo or a dance hall on a Friday night.


I would add that traditional Mexican food like enchiladas is amazing, as are deep-dish pizza and crispy bacon.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.




Comments


bottom of page