top of page

Costa Rica 🇨🇷


Indira, 34


Born in San Jose, Costa Rica


Came to Australia in July 2008

























What is your occupation?


I am a teacher in early childhood education at Montessori Learning Tree - Currans Hill. I am studying a diploma in Education to build my knowledge and help children prepare for school.


Back in Costa Rica, I was a hairdresser. I moved to New York in 2011 with my at-the-time boyfriend to engage more with the beauty industry. I started my Youtube channel (now defunct) where I tested make-up products.


I moved back to Australia after 2017 after breaking up with my boyfriend, and found opportunities in the education sector. My older sister was already a high school teacher, and recommended that I take a few courses (Certificate III in Early Child Education and Care) and traineeship in order to be qualified.


The thing that I like about my role is that every day is different. Seeing the children progress and develop key motor skills is very rewarding.


Why did you come to Australia?


My dad was a refugee from El Salvador during the Salvadoran Civil War, and was approved for permanent residency in 1991. He encouraged my sister and I to move to Australia as well, as there were better opportunities. At the time, I was very hesitant as I liked my life in Costa Rica, and didn’t speak English or have any friends/family in Australia.


We lived in Tasmania for 3 months, but it was too cold for us as he lived near Mount Wellington, Hobart. My sister and I ended up moving to Sydney as it was a bigger city and looked so picturesque.


We learnt English at Bankstown and met a lot of fellow Latinos who were new to Sydney and Australia.


What do you like about Sydney?


It is a safe city and country. When you have family here, you know it will be safe to send your children to school. I lived in New York for 6 years and I experienced Hurricane Sandy, which was terrifying. After hearing about news like the shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School, I realised it was not safe to raise a child in America.


This place is full of opportunities. If you want to grow personally and professionally, this is the perfect place to be.


There is so much beauty around Sydney. The Opera House, Harbour Bridge and the beaches are fantastic.


It is very multicultural - you have friends from all over the world. Ever since moving here, my mentality has changed a lot and I’ve become more open-minded. Also, Medicare is great.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


People are not very sociable. In Latin American culture, you talk to everyone. Here, on the bus or train, no one says anything.


I don’t like double demerit periods during long weekends! Thankfully I’ve never lost a demerit point, but my sister lost her licence for 6 months recently. In Costa Rica, nothing like this exists.


Everything is expensive over here. I know salaries are high, but seriously, how does everything cost so much?


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Do the right thing. Follow the rules.


Explore other places as Australia is a beautiful country.


Airlie Beach in Queensland and Tasmania are some of the places I’ve visited in Australia.


What languages do you speak?


Spanish, English


Spanish is quite easy to learn, as there are many similar words with English.


I picked up English quite easily at my first job in Sydney at Prixcar. I was the only girl working there, and the guys taught me swear words.


I would like to learn Italian in the future as it seems easy.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Pura Vida


It’s pretty much the national motto of Costa Rica. It means “pure life” and is commonly used interchangeably with “hey”, “what’s up?” and “how are you?”, and almost any other greeting. If someone says Como estas, and you reply with pura vida, they know you are Costa Rican.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Costa Rica is culturally beautiful, and there are many places to visit.


I recommend:


  • Corcovado National Park Rainforest is the most famous Costa Rican rainforest mainly for the variety found in it.

  • Arenal Volcano


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Franklin Ramón Chang-Díaz is an Costa-Rica born mechanical engineer, physicist and former NASA astronaut. He led the installation of major components of the International Space Station (ISS) and conducted critical repairs on the Canadian ISS Robotic Arm.


Maribel Guardia is a Costa Rican actress and model. She was winner of Miss Costa Rica 1978 and contestant in Miss Universe 1978. She has been in several famous telenovelas in Costa Rica. She is known not just in Costa Rica, but around the Latino world. Her father was previously the president of Costa Rica.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Tamales


In Costa Rica, two kinds of tamales are considered typical: tamal asado, which is stuffed, and tamal mudo (mute tamale), which has no stuffing. Traditionally, these tamales are exclusive to special occasions such as Christmas and Holy Week, because of the careful preparation and length of time required.


This dish is special to all Ticos.


Picadillo Empanadas


This dish is well known in Latin America, and can include ingredients such as green olives, tomato paste, cream cheese.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.


Comments


bottom of page