top of page

Jamaica 🇯🇲

Amri, 47


Born in Kingston, Jamaica


Came to Australia in February 2020























What is your occupation?


I am a consultant in the infrastructure sector working for HKA, doing commercial procurement for major civil engineering projects. Most of our clients are in the public sector, in water, transport and energy.


I have been in construction all my career. I started out as a civil engineer managing site construction work, and then moved to the UK to do highway engineering.


I studied a Diploma in Structural Engineering at the University of Technology Jamaica and a Bachelor in Science (Civil Engineering) at the University of the West Indies, St Augustine in Trinidad & Tobago.


Why did you come to Australia?


A work opportunity arose in Australia. My organisation HKA reached out to me on Linkedin and asked if I was interested in a job opportunity. At the time, I was comfortable in the UK so I didn’t really consider it at first. I did some research and watched some Youtube videos - and then I was convinced. I was scared about spiders and snakes but I soon realised they aren’t as much of a danger as people make them out to be.


HKA provided me with a lot of support when I arrived in Australia and they helped me plan the move. I moved here with my wife and my two daughters.


I arrived right before COVID hit. However, we knew there would be some difficulties during the transition period as we had moved to the UK before. However, that’s also one of the interesting aspects of moving countries - there’s something new around every corner.


What do you like about Sydney?


I think first of all it’s a beautiful city. I also think there’s a juxtaposition between the hecticness of the CBD and the laid back nature of outer parts of Sydney. In London, there’s nowhere you would describe as “laid back.” Like I would describe Manly as like the Carribean. People adopt a different lifestyle and attitude depending on the environment. For example, I noticed how British people were happier in the summer.


I find Australians to be very open communication-wise. You can readily talk to Australians at a bus stop, train station or a supermarket. For someone who’s new to a country, it’s very refreshing and welcoming. I’ve met a lot of people through everyday life.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


Keep in mind these are just minor complaints - I really love the city.


House prices. Houses are way too expensive in Sydney. In saying that, Sydney has a bigger middle class and a better income equality than the UK.


The lack of nightlife is a minor concern. Things close early and it’s just not as vibrant as a major city like London. For a city with so many gorgeous beaches, there’s a surprising lack of beach parties.


Parcel delivery takes so long. I realise that half the things I buy from Amazon need to be shipped from overseas, and it takes weeks.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


I found the city beautiful and very welcoming. I find people here to be very open-minded and positive. Keep it up and visit Jamaica! It’s culturally rich for a small island. I didn’t realise how much appreciation for reggae and Jamaican culture there is in Sydney. Thank you all!


What languages do you speak?


English, Jamaican Patois


Jamaican Patois is an English-based creole language with West African influences, spoken primarily in Jamaica and among the Jamaican diaspora. A majority of the non-English words in Patois come from the West African Akan language. It is spoken by the majority of Jamaicans as a native language.


When you go to Jamaica, most people will speak Patois among themselves.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Mi a go mash up di place


This means “I'm going to destroy the place.” It could be referring to playing an amazing DJ set or literally ransack the place.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


We are passionate people. Don’t think we’re angry when we’re being loud. We like to say things directly - people should not be offended as we mean well.

Two places I recommend are:


  • Ocho Rios - a former fishing village on a wide bay that was developed for tourism in the mid-1980s. Now there are cruise ships that dock there every day.

  • Kingston - this is where you go to experience authentic Jamaican culture. Go to Bob Marley Museum, Port Royal, Downtown Craft Museum.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Bob Marley


He is one of the foremost pioneers of reggae, and his contributions to music helped increase the visibility of Jamaican music worldwide. There’s a wealth of reggae talent and Bob is just the tip of the iceberg.


I think his music has survived better than the Beatles or Elvis Presley. Last night, I played Bob Marley at one of my parties and it went down like a charm.


What is the best dish in your native country?



A spicy grilled-meat dish mostly associated with Jamaica but common throughout the Caribbean. Jerk refers to a style of cooking in which chicken is coated in spices and slow-cooked over a fire or grill traditionally composed of green pimento wood positioned over burning coals; the resulting smoke is key to the flavour of the dish.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.



Comentários


bottom of page