top of page

Iraq 🇮🇶

Safaa, 23


Born in Baghdad, Iraq


Came to Australia in November 2005.






















How did we meet?


We met through mutual friends at uni. Safaa was always around the BSOC sphere as well even though he didn't even study Commerce!


What is your occupation?


I am a clinical trial assistant and I’m testing whether the new medications from the large pharmaceutical companies are worthy of being approved to be part of the PBS.


My speciality is HIV and sexual health and so on. I love it because it’s patient-based.


Why did you come to Australia?


In the Arab world, people are firstly considered Muslims.

However, we were persecuted for being a minority, as my family and I are Mandaeans.


It got unsafe to live in Iraq, especially after the US invasion. We first had to go through Syria and Jordan and then applied to become refugees in 2005.


What do you like about Sydney?


I’ve appreciated the freedoms of living here more after graduating from uni.


For example, I’ve read that in America it’s a lot harder to obtain affordable healthcare whereas, in Australia, I’m unafraid to go to the doctors.


I’m doing things here that I would not be able to do in Iraq. For example volunteering.

In the Middle East, this would be frowned upon as time is considered money.


I also love how people from all walks of life and all cultures mesh together in Sydney.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I find that difficult to answer because there are generally very few things that I would complain about. Even like the lockout laws, expensive public transport etc.


I’m happy to pay $4 to get to the city. I don’t care. That’s so good, compared to driving!


I don't drink as often anymore so these laws don’t affect me.


It’s a pretty good city- there are so many things to do that are free, such as borrowing books from libraries and people don’t even take advantage of them! People should get off their devices and actually make the most of these resources.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


For those who complain about there being nothing to do in this city.


There’s a lot to do in the city if you just shift your focus away from nighttime activities. The gains are not immediate but you could find animal shelters, nurseries and anything really that suits your taste really.


What languages do you speak?


English, Arabic


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


حَبيبي ‎

Habibi- people think of it as a romantic term. But it can be used for anything depending on your tone of voice.

It’s a really nice term and the inflexions differ depending on who the speaker is addressing.


I feel like it’s being stereotyped by the Lebanese, but it has nice origins and is wholesome.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


A lot of people see us as a relatively poor country whereas, in reality, it’s becoming very Westernised.


It’s a lot more modern and advanced than what you see in the media.


Befriend the locals, not the guidebooks.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Saddam Hussein - everyone knows who he is.


During the war, during Saddam’s reign, there was the shoe-throwing incident involving Bush. It was hilarious.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Kebabs easily.


Each Middle Eastern country really has its own variety of kebabs. Veal is the best meat.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.


Comments


bottom of page