top of page

Palestine 🇵🇸

Assala, 25


Born in Bethlehem, Palestine


Came to Australia in May 2001























What is your occupation?


I am a school counsellor in Western Sydney and a social worker. A lot of my work is to do with community development but currently I am practising as a primary and secondary school counsellor. I enjoy my work because I work with youth and children that want to be heard and amplify their voices. I also enjoy it because I learn a lot about myself - that I am capable of taking in constructive criticism in order to better myself. I feel like mental health is something that is still unfairly stigmatised, and this needs to be addressed urgently.


I studied a Bachelor of Social Work (Honours) at the University of Sydney. Next year I will be starting my PhD in the Personal Identity of Palestinians in the diaspora at the University of Sydney. In the long term, I want to become a lecturer and continue growing my Instagram page Haweyate.


Why did you come to Australia?


My parents chose to come to Australia to provide better opportunities for us (2 brothers and 1 sister). My maternal uncle migrated to Australia when he was young. As we already had relatives living in Australia, my father migrated here in 1997 before my mother, my siblings and I migrated here a few years later.


We actually got rejected for Australian citizenship the first time.


Initially, there were a lot of challenges in navigating the different culture, language and lifestyle of Australia; transitioning to a new location takes time.


What do you like about Sydney?


It’s very diverse and gives me a glimpse into the world. As a Palestinian, I appreciate the privilege of freedom of movement. Whenever I want to go to the beach, I can do so. This is something that Palestinians are limited to, as a lot of Palestinians are internally displaced due to the illegal Israeli occupation.


I like experiencing different cultures that help me understand how people identify with a certain community, and how they live their lives.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


We as community members of councils should be asking them to embrace the diversity of Australia. There’s a lot of talk about multiculturalism but I don’t see much acknowledgement from the three forms of government.


There should be more collaboration between different communities, like cultural events, two-way learning opportunities for young people to learn about workshops or school visits. For example, in Dubai, there is something called Global Village. An initiative like that would be so beneficial in Sydney.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Be kind to each other. We all have gone through many different experiences in life. Appreciating the differences between each other is showing kindness.


What languages do you speak?


English, Arabic


Palestinian Arabic is somewhat similar to the dialects spoken in Jordanian Arabic and Egyptian Arabic. I studied Classical Arabic for four weeks in Qatar University. It is the language of my religion and it is a very deep and meaningful language.


I want to learn Hebrew because it is the language that the Israeli occupiers use. In order to navigate the occupation, it is important to understand the language.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Behemesh


It means “It’s okay.” There’s a political connotation behind this. If the Israelis destroyed a home, the homeowner would say “Behemesh.” It’s kind of like black humour, where you’re withstanding so much pain but also acknowledging that you’re not going to stand down to the occupiers.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


I want people to know that Palestine existed before the Israeli occupation. People should understand that it is a holy place. It is unique in its food, landscapes and resistance. You won’t be able to understand the uniqueness until you’ve experienced it.


It is also a country that faces human rights violations every single second but its people have not surrendered to the Israeli occupation. We have resisted for the past 74 years just by existing. In 1948, the modern state of Israel was established and is when the Nakba occurred.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Yaser Arafat was a Palestinian political leader who had a significant contribution in Palestinian resistance. He was founder and leader of the Fatah political party and later the chairman of the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO) and president of the Palestinian National Authority.


Mahmoud Darwich, who was regarded as Palestine's national poet. In his poems he explores dispossession, grief, loss, connection and love. His poems are beyond context and time, where many relate to his words.


What is the best dish in your native country?



Malfouf is traditionally a stuffed cabbage roll with a rice and meat filling


The word malfouf means cabbage, as well as rolled up in Arabic.

When referred to as a dish, it indicates the stuffed cabbage leaves enjoyed in this part of the world.


Musakhan is a staple Palestinian slow-cooked chicken dish smothered in silky onions and bright, lemony sumac, set on top of flatbread.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.

Comentarios


bottom of page