top of page

Taiwan 🇹🇼

Jarvis, 21


Came to Australia in January 2020


Born in Kaohsiung City, Taiwan

























What is your occupation?


I am a designer. Originally, I was a Product Design intern at Canva, and now I am working as a Visual Designer and Web Design for another software company called Dovetail. I’m getting to work on more design disciplines here at Dovetail - this is my dream company. This is my own personal website: https://www.jarvis-wang.com/


After you slowly build your craft and reputation, you no longer have to reach out to people to ask for work. As a designer you need to gain experience in a lot of different focus areas of design before deciding on what you want to focus on.


I studied a Bachelor of Computer Science at the University of New South Wales. I chose it because it’s a safe option. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to be a developer, designer or engineer. It’s hard to get into the design industry as it is extremely competitive. I was only committed to the designer career path when I started making good money from my freelance work.


Why did you come to Australia?


I was actually studying at National Central University but I realised that I didn’t want to go through the Taiwanese higher education system; everything is really intense up to and including high school, but is very relaxed in university. People get too comfortable and rest on their laurels, knowing that they can secure a job with their university degree from a top university. A lot of employers won’t even consider your resume if you didn’t earn a degree from a top university.


I wanted to challenge myself and achieve more elsewhere. After a semester, I decided I wanted to study overseas. I decided to come to Australia because of its diversity, safety and friendliness.


What do you like about Sydney?


I think there are a lot of opportunities to work here. I am also grateful that I got to study Computer Science at University of the New South Wales, one of the top universities for that degree. A lot of the tech companies such as Canva, Atlassian, Microsoft and Google have their Australian headquarters here.


The weather is great here. Coming from a country with a tropical climate like Taiwan, Sydney’s climate is very comfortable. It’s not too hot or cold. I feel like I would get heat stroke in Brisbane and be frozen to death in Melbourne.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I feel like Melbourne is more liveable than Sydney. There’s more exciting things going on in Melbourne and the food scene is better. There are more vintage shops in Melbourne, ones that sell clothing.


The cost of living is a huge deal breaker for Sydney. My weekly rent of around $320/week is similar to my semester-long rent back at university in Taiwan. Breakfast would cost $2 or $3 in Taiwan whereas it’d cost an arm and a leg here.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Thanks for making Sydney a great place for me to live in and start my career. If possible, please make rent cheaper!


What languages do you speak?


Mandarin, Hokkien and English


I was actually really good at speaking English during my high school years as I participated in Model United Nations. I would attend a lot of conferences just to practise my English.


You need to step out of your comfort zone in order to improve your foreign language skills in a foreign environment.


I learnt Hokkien passively as my parents never taught me the language. I reckon they intentionally did it so they could talk about family drama without me understanding.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


他我可以 - ta wo ke yi


It is a very subculture phrase. You would only use it with your clique. It means “I can do he/she” and means that the subject is your type. It’s exclusively used by young people.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


The food is pretty good in Taiwan. You guys have to try bubble tea in Taiwan. The stores I recommend are Machi Machi, Unocha and Milksha and Huada Milk Tea.


Public transportation is a maze - google the Taipei MRT map and you will understand what I mean. It’s not as bad as Tokyo but can still be quite confusing. However it is so convenient that you don’t need a car. You probably don’t want to drive there anyway because it’s so hectic.


I recommend you guys to visit the following places:

  • Tainan is known for its centuries-old palaces and temples and has a lot of traditional food. Its city planning is not the best, just like Sydney. The cuisine is very sweet however, as sugar was associated with the rich and wealthy. As the island’s political centre and main gateway to trade with the outside world, it was exposed to a variety of relatively sophisticated cuisines.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Jay Chou


Known as “The King of Mandopop”, he is probably the most famous singer as he is one of the best selling artists in Taiwan. He’s been active in the music scene for longer than I’ve been born.


Ang Lee


He is a famous Taiwanese filmmaker who directed Brokeback Mountain and Life of Pi among other films. Most of Lee's work is known for its emotional charge and exploration of repressed, hidden emotions. His movies are sophisticated , which I appreciate because I’m a designer.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Beef Noodle Soup

This is Taiwan’s national dish. Back home, I would have this almost every other week. My mother would cook it at home and I have also learnt how to make it! It’s on the more expensive side compared to other dishes, but shouldn’t cost more than $6-10 AUD.


Bubble tea and Taiwanese fried chicken must also be mentioned.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.

Comments


bottom of page