top of page

Afghanistan 🇦🇫

Zainab, 21


Born in Kabul, Afghanistan


Came to Australia in December 2008























How did we meet?


I met Zainab while I was working at NAB and I actually showed her the ropes when she initially started.


What is your occupation?


I am a private banker at NAB and I did a year of a Bachelor of International Studies at Macquarie University. I didn’t like it at first but I might go back to university sometime.


Why did you come to Australia?


Because of the war in Afghanistan, my dad thought it wasn’t really safe for us. My dad came by boat via Indonesia and Christmas Island in 1999 and he then sponsored us in 2008. His trip to Australia took 8-9 months and he nearly fell out once. One of his friends saved him and he now calls him his “brother” since he saved his life.


Australia was a cheaper option for him at the time because you could go by boat, whereas you had to fly overseas to other countries.


This is all hearsay by the way since my dad never talks about this ordeal. Everything that I just said were details that I heard from dad’s “brother.”


What do you like about Sydney?


I love the weather in Australia and Sydney in general.


I love how it’s so multicultural like there are even Afghan festivals and food! The groceries, everything is so accessible.


Every workplace that I’ve worked at has a prayer room so it’s very accommodating to us.


I like how welcoming everyone is and how friendly and welcoming my teachers were. When I first arrived, I couldn’t speak more than two words of English but they helped me nonetheless.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


One thing I’ve noticed is that some first-generation immigrants are very inconsiderate and don’t follow the laws. For example in Auburn, some people would just park in your driveway or stop in the middle of the road to collect groceries.


I also dislike the traffic and public transport- it’s really bad! Parking is a big headache and the trains would come every 5 minutes, it can’t compare to other countries like Korea.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Be nice and don’t judge because you don’t know what people are dealing with!


Be considerate of others!


What languages do you speak?


English, Pashto (native), Dari (native)


Most people in Afghanistan speak both Pashto and Dari, but some people can only speak Dari because Pashto is harder.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Pashto- زه ستا سره مینه لرم

ta sara mina larem - I love you.

Dari- بیا بریم

biya ke berem - Let’s go.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


When I mention I’m going back to Afghanistan every 2-3 years for a holiday, people freak out! “But isn’t there a war there?”


It’s more than just war. Everyone thinks we’re just a war-torn country, but it has its good side too. Did you know we have 80% of the world’s heroin?


Naturewise, it has beautiful places, mountains, mosques.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Rashid Khan - he is Afghanistan’s top cricketer.


Afghanistan doesn’t really participate in other sporting events like the Olympics; we send a very small team but cricket is THE sport.


When Afghanistan is playing cricket, everyone gathers in front of the tv and watches the match.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Mantu and arshak - both are dumplings but mantu is steamed and arshak is boiled in water. Arshak has chives and spring onions whereas mantu has a meat filling.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.


Comments


bottom of page