top of page

Bahrain 🇧🇭

Megha, 27


Born in Manama, Bahrain


Came to Australia in March 2017























What is your occupation?


Ever since coming to Australia, I’ve been a Project Manager for the past four years. My focus areas are business change and strategic initiatives, especially in the tertiary sector.


I also teach Project Management at different universities throughout NSW, such as the University of Sydney and Southern Cross University.


Why did you come to Australia?


I primarily came here to do my Masters of Project Management at one of the Group of 8 Universities and I managed to get accepted into UNSW.


As part of my undergraduate degree, I studied my Bachelor of Chemical Engineering at the Manipal Academy of Higher Education in India. I met my husband there - he’s from Malaysia and he went on exchange via a “twinning programme” to the University of Queensland for 2 years. After I graduated, I went back to Bahrain to work as an engineer. After a year, I moved to Sydney, Australia and settled down with my husband.


What do you like about Sydney?


The main thing I like about Sydney is the abundance of nature; there’s just so much greenery here in Sydney. As someone who loves the outdoors, there are always new hikes, beaches and mountains to explore.


Bahrain, being one of the Middle Eastern countries, doesn’t have that much greenery. Although there are beaches in Bahrain, there’s a noticeable cultural difference as it’s not appropriate to wear bikinis at Bahraini beaches. I’ve recently gotten into skiing and that’s something that you won’t see in Bahrain - it’s mostly desert!


It’s scorching hot in Bahrain between July and September - hardly anyone goes outside during these months. The winters are very nice and mild though.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


There’s next to no nightlife here; it really irks me that everything closes around 5 PM or 6 PM. In Bahrain, since it’s such a small country, we’d meet up with friends after work, regardless if it’s a weekday or weekend day. All the stores, shisha bars, clubs and food joints in Bahrain are open past midnight - I feel like everyone goes to bed late since there’s a big nightlife culture there.


That’s all I can think of at the moment because I love Sydney!


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Be more culturally aware.


People frequently assume that I’m an Indian who was born and raised in India whereas I was actually born and raised in Bahrain. It’s important to know that people may have been brought up in a completely different country compared to their ethnicity. Bahrain is my home and India is my parents’ birthplace - this is somehow mind-boggling to a lot of people.


What languages do you speak?


Arabic, English, Malayalam, Kannada, Hindi


My Arabic is only at an intermediate level because I was educated at an international school, where it wasn’t compulsory.


I do know a lot of local Indian languages as I had to communicate with my colleagues and rickshaw drivers; they didn’t know a word of English. If I spoke to them in Hindi, they’d know where I’m from a different part of India and try to overcharge me - this is why I learnt Kannada. Malayalam is my family’s mother tongue.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Marhaba is hello.


مع السلامة

Ma Salama is goodbye.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Bahrain is actually called the Island of Pearls, as it has a rich history of pearl-producing. Pearl fishing is the oldest and most basic source of employment due to the abundant availability of pearl fisheries from more than 2000 years ago.


If you visit, there’s a lot of historical sites like old forts, like Bahrain Fort


Bahrain is also home to the Tree of Life, a 400-year-old mesquite tree in the middle of the barren desert. No one has any idea how it survives and how it gets its water. It rains for like 2 days a year!



Compared to other Middle Eastern countries, Bahrain has a very relaxed drinking culture. Alcohol is widely available to non-Muslims in many bars and restaurants, although you cannot drink in public.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Hamad bin Isa Al Khalifa


He is the King of Bahrain but his father was also a very famous personality as he was King when I was growing up.


The country has been ruled by the Al Khalifa dynasty since 1783.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Malghoom


It’s like shawarma but much better as it’s juicy and saucy - the name of the dish literally means ‘explosion.’ Malghoom is filled with a spicy mix of chicken, beef, fresh tomato & onion, crisp lettuce, pickles, tahini, garlic sauce and Sriracha hot sauce. It’s so cheap too - it costs around 300 fils (1 Bahraini Dinar is divided into 1000 fils), which is roughly $1 AUD.


Machboos


It’s very similar to an Indian biryani but it’s not as spicy. It’s our national dish and we normally have it with chicken. Occasionally, during fancy wedding ceremonies, they may choose to serve it with camel meat instead.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.



Comentarios


bottom of page