top of page

Bangladesh 🇧🇩


Huma, 29


Born in Dhaka, Bangladesh


Came to Australia in January 2017























How did we meet?


Huma and I were colleagues when I used to work at NAB. We were actually in the same orientation group!


What is your occupation?


I’m a banker by profession. I also do a bit of teaching for Naplan and selective exams, teaching has always been a passion of mine.


At the moment, I am studying a Master of Commerce in Finance at Macquarie University.


Because the teaching standards are different in Australia compared to Bangladesh, I might one day do a Bachelor of Education.


Why did you come to Australia?


Because I fell in love with my husband who loves Australia!


I believe Australia has given me a better platform for me to support my parents back home and Bangladeshi society itself. By nature, it’s a developing country so it is quite dependent on overseas remittances from us.


Australia will become my country as well next year when I become a citizen.


What do you like about Sydney?


There’s a lot of things that I like about Sydney. Firstly, the people are so friendly. There are also a lot of places to visit in Sydney and I like how vibrant it is.


Honestly speaking, when you think of Australia, the first city that comes to mind is Sydney. This is despite the fact that I’ve been to Melbourne, Darwin, Brisbane etc. Sydney will always be where my heart lies.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I hate summer in Sydney. This is the time where I don’t feel beautiful.

Nah honestly, I have migraines so summer makes it worse. The summer heat is so scorching as well- it hits your body and saps your energy!


As a career-oriented person, it really decreases my productivity.

If it were up to me, it should always be winter!


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


You guys are awesome! You guys have always been an inspiration for me to become a better person. I always see people helping each other out.


I love how Sydneysiders are very active, fun-loving, organised and family-oriented. This makes our lives easier and this makes us immigrants feel welcome in this city!


What languages do you speak?


English, Bengali (native), Hindi.

I learned Hindi by watching Indian movies when I was young.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


আমি তোমাকে ভালোবাসি

Ami tomake bhalobashi - I love you.


This carries an expression of love and I feel like my country has a great relationship with nature and people. I love Bangladesh!


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Firstly, Bangladesh has the longest sea beach in the world! Bangladesh is a green country- it is a country that offers mountains, rivers, oceans, islands etc.


The most important thing regarding our history is that we are one of the few countries that fought for their mother tongue, Bengali. 21st February is considered as the International Mother Tongue Day, which has been accredited by UNICEF.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Dr Mohammed Yunus- the Nobel Peace Prize winner in 2006 for pioneering the concepts of microcredit and microfinance.


On a personal level, he is really close to me because my husband used to work for him. He even sends me birthday messages and went to our wedding to bless us.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Bangladesh is considered a riverine country and it is famous for its staple foods of rice and fish.

We make fish in different ways, like curries, stir-fries, deep-fried etc. I would vote for shorshe elish- hilsha fish with mustard seeds. It is our national fish! We even export this fish to India.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.



Comments


bottom of page