top of page

Belize 🇧🇿

Benjamin, 35


Born in Teakettle, Belize


Came to Australia in November 2011
























What is your occupation?


I started my own renovations business called Zorro Renovations Pty Ltd about 5 years ago. I was a sole trader prior to that and now I subcontract people. We primarily do extensions, bathrooms, balconies and renovations.


I dropped out of my high school in Belize after one year. I felt like I was wasting my time as I knew I was not going to be an office worker. I wanted to learn a trade and do what I like doing, which is building things. From a young age, I was intrigued about building, design and construction. Some of my favourite shows include Grand Design and The Block.


Why did you come to Australia?


My friend Max, who is a tour guide around Belize, persuaded me to join this river tubing expedition in San Ignacio, Belize, where I ended up meeting my Australian wife. My wife at the time was just 25 and we ended up travelling around Central and South America for 6 months: we ended up marrying 3 months into the trip in Belize.


We ended up making it from Buenos Aires to Sydney as I was on a partner visa. 3 days after arriving in Australia, I found work at a renovations company. I quit after 6 months to start my own company.


What do you like about Sydney?


The climate is very conducive to outdoor activities, such as fishing, swimming, and hiking in national parks. My family loves camping in our trailer van and some of our favourite spots include Lake Conjola.


I have my own soccer team called Ragamuffin FC in 5 x 5 soccer and also play for Georges River FC in winter.


I love everything about Sydney. There are no complaints from me.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I hate the winter as I struggle in the cold. As I do a lot of building work, it’s miserable working outside in the cold as your hands freeze and ears hurt.


I wish there was more Carribean food in Sydney. There are some restaurants I’ve been to such as Rosie Campbell’s but it’s not the real deal! I’m a picky guy so I normally cook my own food at home, making stewed chicken.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Start your morning right. Face the day front on. Even if it’s going to be a rough day, soldier through. As long as you have health and strength, that’s all you need in life.


For example, in the morning, I think to myself “It’s going to be a good day.”


What languages do you speak?


English, Kriol, Spanish


In Belize, it’s very common to speak Spanish even though English is the only official language. The lingua franca is actually Belizean Creole, also known as Kriol. It is a contact language that developed and grew between 1650 and 1930, as a result of the slave trade. This is something I actually miss a lot as I would use Kriol every day to speak to other Belizeans.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Weh di gaan an? — What’s up?


It’s like saying “What’s going on?”



What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


In Belize, it feels like you’re going back in time 50 years. People live in villages and small little towns.


Belize is a world-class scuba diving and snorkelling destination with more than 400 islands, white sandy beaches. Most of the tourists go to the Belize Barrier Reef, the second-longest barrier reef system in the world (after Australia’s Great Barrier Reef), which is Belize’s most famous tourist attraction.


Belize was once home to at least one million Mayas, and their stunning architecture with hidden tombs and offerings remain today. Altun Ha, Caracol, Lamanai, and Xunantunich are the most popular, though the best option will depend on how much time visitors have available and whether they want to tack on cave tubing or zip-lining. We have Mayan ancestors living in the Belizean jungles.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Supa G


He’s an artist from Georgetown, Belize, that’s been around since I was a little boy I’d say. He exploded in the punta rock scene over fifteen years ago with hits like Muevelo, Party Insane, and Wadani Le - which has hit over 1 million views on Youtube!


What is the best dish in your native country?



This is on everyone’s lunch plate. It’s our tradition and we would have it 3 times a day if we could. More specifically, it consists of rice, red kidney beans, stewed chicken and potato salad.


Fried plantains are also amazing!


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.



Comments


bottom of page