top of page

Cambodia 🇰🇭

Tito, 20


Born in Phnom Penh, Cambodia


Came to Australia in May 2018























How did we meet?


I messaged Tito on Facebook after finding him in the following ABC News article: https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-12-07/school-formals-give-students-bright-spot-amid-covid-pandemic/12916090?nw=0


What is your occupation?


I just graduated from Bonnyrigg High School this year and I plan to study for a Bachelor of Business or Commerce at either Macquarie University or UTS. I’m waiting for my ATAR results which come out this Friday!


In the future, I want to set up my own clothing line. Men’s clothing is really boring so I wanted to create something new and put my ideas out there. My favourite brands are ZARA, Uniqlo and H&M; 95% of my wardrobe consists of these brands.


Why did you come to Australia?


I came to Australia primarily because the educational system is a lot better.


In Cambodia, it is very regimented as you don’t really get to choose the subjects you study. You have to study Khmer, mathematics and then either the sciences (biology, chemistry, physics) or humanities (history, geography, social studies, morality, hospitality).


English is not compulsory but for some reason, there is an English exam. It’s ridiculously easy though, asking you to write a 90-word paragraph.


The majority of the people from the countryside tell their kids to drop out of school so they can help out with business or agriculture. It’s a similar situation to the viral Cambodian kid from a few years ago: he would work for half a day just to make ends meet for his family.



What do you like about Sydney?


I like Sydney in winter because the air is fresher and cleaner then. In Cambodia, the air in Phnom Penh isn’t that clean because of a combination of pollution and dirt.

I love the cold because I don’t have to shower 3 times a day like back in Cambodia. There are only two distinct seasons in Cambodia: the dry and hot season and the monsoon season.


I love the multicultural food scene in Sydney. There is so much high-quality food here that it’s hard to fathom, like Korean, Italian, Japanese etc. In Cambodia, we do have some Chinese and Japanese restaurants but the quality isn’t as great as here.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


When I came first to Australia, something that really shocked me was how disrespectfully the students in my school treated teachers and elders: they lack basic decorum. There was a girl in my class who once threatened to throw her phone at the window if the teacher were to confiscate her phone. In Asian countries, we treat teachers and elders with the utmost respect: we don’t play around with their phones and defer to them.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Visit Cambodia and you will change your perception of hospitality.


Cambodians are very nice and kind people: don’t judge any culture or race by the few bad apples.


What languages do you speak?


Khmer, English, Mandarin Chinese, Thai, Teochew


My parents are Cambodian-Chinese so I’ve been learning Mandarin since I was 3. They specifically speak Teochew at home. I could’ve been fluent in it but I didn’t pay much attention when I was young.


My Thai is not fluent but I can make a simple conversation. I learnt Thai for 6 months and love watching Thai dramas. A lot of Cambodians love Thai dramas as we talk about the actors on social media. The three main popular cultures we consume (clothing, music, tv etc) are Thai, Korean and Chinese.


In the future, I would like to learn Japanese and perhaps one of the European languages like Italian or French


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


ជំរាបសួរ Chom Reap Sour

This is the formal way of saying hello. As we have a very respectful culture, this is what you use to greet elders and those of higher social standing.


ជំរាបលា Chom Reap Lear

This is the formal way of saying goodbye.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


The cost is less, the experience is enjoyable and there are amazing people.


Besides Angkor Wat, there are so many beautiful places to visit like Koh Rong island and Kirirom National Park. I love nature as fresh air allows me to rejuvenate and relax.


At the moment, we use both the Cambodian Riel and the US dollar but I highly recommend you to use dollars in shopping malls. The Cambodian Riel is highly inflated and the US dollar is widely accepted. On the streets or at pagodas, however, you will need to use riels.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Aok Sokunkanha


She’s one of the most famous Cambodian singers and is considered the Queen of Pop over there. She’s one of the judges on The Voice Cambodia.


Another famous singer is Meas Sok Sophea. Her voice is so amazing and it can take you to another place. It’s hard to describe.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Prahok Ktis


It’s a very popular Cambodian dipping sauce that contains prahok, a pickled mudfish, herb and spice curry paste, coconut cream and minced pork. I’m dying to eat this as I cannot find it in Sydney.


You usually serve it with vegetables (like cucumbers, lettuce) and rice.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.




Comments


bottom of page