top of page

Honduras 🇭🇳

Eduardo, 33


Born in Tegucigalpa, Honduras


Came to Australia in February 2020























How did we meet?

Eduardo was introduced to me by Monalisa (Brazil).


What is your occupation?


I have a Masters of Finance and am studying a Masters of Business Administration at Torrens University.


I was a Senior Financial Analyst for Group Intur in Honduras, which runs fast-food franchises like Dunkin Donuts, Popeyes and Burger King.


Why did you come to Australia?


It was a tough decision because of my age and the fact that Australia is so far away. It was always a dream of mine to study for a Masters or start a career overseas. I passed on the opportunity to go to Spain as I wasn’t eligible for a working visa; the living costs would be too high. I came to Australia because I secured a working visa.


What do you like about Sydney?


Everything I guess. It’s different and the people are polite. It's also a very multicultural city and I love that about Sydney.


You can walk on the streets with your phone out and nothing will happen to you. You couldn’t do this in Latin America because there are thieves.


The weather is great here compared to Honduras’ climate is very humid. For six months, it’s so sunny you can feel the sunburn on your skin and it’ll rain for the other six months. This is the case at least in my hometown of Choluteca- it’s hot as hell.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I don’t like the unemployment situation I currently find myself in. The Australian government seems to have forgotten us, international students. I'm not one to ask for a helping hand, I'm not asking for money at all - but I definitely know of people that are needy right now during this economic downturn.


I also don’t like how remote Australia is! It’s a 16 hour time difference between my hometown and Sydney. I don’t have time to talk to my family because when I’m working, they’re sleeping and vice versa.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Keep being polite and try to be a better person every day. For the drivers out there, please act responsible towards us cyclists, there are some assholes on the roads.


What languages do you speak?


Spanish, English


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


This is good. We have plenty of slang that we use in Honduras.


Vamos a pijiniar maje con esas cipotas - This means ‘Let’s go hang out with those girls.’


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


We have the best beaches in the region. If you want to go crazy, party or scuba dive, you must go to Utila. If you just want to relax with your family and just enjoy the paradise views, go to Roatan. There’s even an area where you can swim with jaguars!


The Mayans were born in Honduras; there’s a city called Copán which is home to several significant Mayan sites and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The ruined citadel and imposing public squares reveal the three main stages of development before the city was abandoned in the early 10th century.


There’s a special dance called the punta, that originated by the Garifuna people with African elements. This is popular in the northern part of my country.


We produce some of the best coffee and cocoa in the world. Our coffee has been described as having notes of apricot and chocolate.


I intend to go back to Honduras after I finish my Master at Torrens because I miss my country, culture and people.


I guess it’s also a shame that my country isn’t well known and that most people only know the negative things like the drug gangs and the corrupt politicians who are ruining Honduras.

It’s a shame because there’s so much to offer. The food is amazing, the people are kind and down-to-earth. We have the most beautiful girls in the region too. I’m not even being biased.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


We have many famous football players but only David Suazo, who played for Inter Milan, deserves a mention. The rest aren’t as famous.


Salvador Moncada is famous. He’s a Honduran-British pharmacologist and professor and his wife is the princess of Belgium. In the 1990s, he was the second most cited scientist in the world. His areas of expertise are inflammation, vascular biology and cell growth. He’s just a smart guy.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Baleada is the most famous dish.


Gordon Ramsay went to Honduras and declared baleada as one of the best dishes in Latin America.


It consists of a thick wheat flour tortilla filled with mashed fried beans and optionally, various other ingredients such as cheese, eggs, avocados, hot sauce, and Honduran-style sour cream known as mantequilla.


I can’t eat it here in Australia because all the ingredients are different. The beans are different, the sour cream is different. It’s not the same.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.



Comments


bottom of page