top of page

India 🇮🇳

Karthick, 29


Born in Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India


Arrived in Australia March 2019























How did we meet?


This is a good one. While watching Rafa Nadal practice in the hopes of securing his autograph at the inaugural ATP Cup this year in Sydney, I started talking to Karthick and quickly realised how much of a diehard fan he was. We quickly bonded over our mutual love of tennis. His knowledge of the game is second to none.


What is your occupation?


I am a software developer and I’m working at Tata Consultancy Services.


One of our clients is Westpac and it’s the number one software company in India. We are an MNC company and we have plans to expand all around the world and we are developing content management for Westpac.


Why did you come to Australia?


I came to Australia as part of work; TCS sponsored me as part of a work visa. I came here to work at an on-side location for Westpac.


In our company, there is a policy that 30% of our colleagues would be working from onshore, outside of India, and 70% offshore. As part of the 30% cohort, I came here last year.


What do you like about Sydney?


One of the best things I like about Sydney and Australia, in general, is the sporting culture, it encourages people to get involved in sport.


The main sport in India is cricket whereas here in Sydney, everyone is encouraged to partake in different sports like tennis, rugby, swimming etc. I like how people are very health-conscious and concentrate on exercise.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


The weather is great most of the time. When it’s summer, I can handle it easily as an Indian person.


However, the problem is that I struggle to adapt to the winter: it’s so cold compared to what I’m used to!


Even though it’s an expensive city, I don’t spend much anyway so it doesn’t make much difference. When I first arrived, I hardly went out to eat because there weren’t many good vegetarian options around Wentworthville where I used to live.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


I would say to visit India at least once in your life! India is a very big place and there are lots of wonderful places to see, such as temples. It’ll be a great experience for you!


What languages do you speak?


English, Tamil (native)


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


எப்படி இருக்கீங்க


Eppadi irukeenga? - it means How are you?


The answer would be Nalla iruken- meaning I am well.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


India is a multicultural country. Arranged marriages are still the norm in both northern and southern India here; it’s very common and up to 90% of marriages are arranged. Things are changing now - people prefer to date and marry whoever they choose but our parents still try to convince us that arranged marriages are preferable.


It makes you adjust since you’re marrying someone that you don’t really know.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Sachin Tendulkar- he’s considered the God of cricket for many Indians. He’s very famous, even amongst older generations. If you want me to pick one, I'd pick Tendulkar over Virat Kohli.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Masala dosa- a favourite in Southern India. It’s my personal favourite and it’s very spicy!


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.




Comments


bottom of page