top of page

Indonesia 🇮🇩

Calista, 20


Born in Jakarta, Indonesia


Came to Australia in January 2007

























How did we meet?


Calista and I were both part of the Executive team in our university degree's society, the UNSW Commerce (International) Society.


What is your occupation?


I am an analytical journalist at Start Smart, an early-stage startup. I study a Bachelor of Commerce/Information Systems at UNSW, majoring in Marketing.


Why did you come to Australia?


My family moved here for a better life. In Indonesia, there is a lot of poverty and corruption and my parents wanted me to get away from all of that. They wanted to instil good ethics and provide good opportunities in terms of education and career advancement.


I’ve been going to Australia on a yearly basis since I was born anyway as my dad went to high school and college here, so I had already fostered an attachment to this country. It had already become a second home to me.


What do you like about Sydney?


I feel like Sydney is my home now. I love this place. I’ve been going back to Indonesia less nowadays, and everything in my life is here, asides from some relatives.

I’m grateful for all the opportunities that I have been given here.


I love how Sydney is very multicultural. Having been to other cities around the world, Sydney has more cultural understanding and diversity. This makes it easier for people to interact with and stay connected to their culture.


I’m a big foodie so it’s a lot easier to try different cuisines here compared to Indonesia. As an example, there isn’t much Vietnamese, Thai, Indian food back in Indonesia.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


There’s not much nightlife here. The clubbing is so unmemorable compared to Asia; it’s much more lively in places like Singapore, Hong Kong, Bali etc. I can’t pinpoint the exact reason why but the vibes here are off. Indonesia


Sometimes Sydney can get quite boring. Normally, I just go out to eat lunch or dinner with my friends but I wish there were more activities like fairs or festivals.


The shops close so early here too! It’s super annoying! Like, stay open, please! I’m a night owl!


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


During this precarious time, I hope that you don’t let COVID-associated stereotypes influence your perceptions of different cultures. I love Sydney because it’s multicultural - so I would hate it if the pandemic were to damage that harmony.


What languages do you speak?


English, Bahasa Indonesia (native)


I'm also learning German and Italian.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Cantik- this means beautiful.


Living in such a crazy world that is filled with negativity, it’s nice to inject some positivity.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Indonesia has some of the friendliest people in the world. They’re extremely welcoming and positive, you can feel this when you meet an Indonesian.


Most Australians holiday in Bali but there’s so much more to see, such as Jakarta, Sumatra, Borneo etc. It’s an underrated destination. Every island is different and there are so many experiences as the languages and cultures in each island are also completely different from one another. I guess Indonesia is unique in this aspect because we’re an archipelago nation.

Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Rich Brian, the Indonesian rapper.


I think in my generation, he’s brought a lot of recognition to Indonesia as he’s very successful worldwide. I respect him so much because I know how hard it is to make a name for yourself outside Indonesia, due to our internal problems.


I was so sad I didn’t get a ticket to his concert when he came to Sydney a few years ago. I would marry him, but that theoretical line of girls must be so long.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Babi guling- Balinese roast pork.


It's one of Bali's most famous dishes: it’s just the best. I have no words to describe how good it tastes.


You cannot even find genuine babi guling in Jakarta, let alone Sydney. Whenever I’m in Bali, I eat it at least once a day. It’s just different.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.


Comentarios


bottom of page