top of page

Ireland šŸ‡®šŸ‡Ŗ

Stephen, 26


Born in Dublin, Ireland


Came to Australia in January 2019























What is your occupation?


I did my undergrad in Chemistry at Trinity College Dublin. Iā€™m currently studying for a PhD in Organic Chemistry at the University of Sydney. Essentially what I do is I modify proteins to develop medicines and understand biology. After I graduate from my PhD, I will move to the US to do a post-doc, which will involve more chemistry research.


Why did you come to Australia?


I had a couple options for my PhD, including Berlin, Zurich and the US. Ultimately, I chose Australia because it seemed like a good place to go. I got an offer from a professor at University of Sydney whose research I was really interested in.


At the time, I was only 21 and I saw it as a chance to explore and grow. Since coming here, Iā€™ve grown as a scientist and person.


What do you like about Sydney?


I really like the multiculturalism of Sydney. Having all these different cultures and ethnicities should be something that is celebrated; there aren't many places in the world that are like this.


I like the relaxed and laid back lifestyle. People aren't on the proverbial hamster wheel. People like to enjoy their time after they clock off.


Australia is also quite progressive in terms of having a social safety net.


What donā€™t you like about Sydney?


While I've been quite lucky to have met heaps of open minded and friendly people, I do wish Sydneysiders would keep a more open mind to outsiders. It seems like people here just stick with their cliques. They arenā€™t that open to making new friends who are different to them. Itā€™s easier for them to stick with the same people theyā€™ve always hung out with from high school or university.


I think Sydney is more of a family-oriented city, which is great! But I feel like youth culture should be promoted and celebrated more, like nightlife, music, art festivals etc. Taking a leaf from Melbourneā€™s book would be beneficial.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Keep an open mind to outsiders and donā€™t lose the laid back Australian sensibilities that attract people from across the world.


What languages do you speak?


English, Irish


I speak feck all Irish! I thought I'd mention it to promote the language. My brothers can speak it because they went to an Irish-speaking school. Irish isnā€™t taught very well and people donā€™t see the need for it in daily life.


I want to learn Spanish as itā€™s one of the most common languages in the world and a great way to make friends!


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Gas craic


Itā€™s a very Urban Dictionary kind of phrase. This means someone that is funny or entertaining.


For example, ā€œYer one is gas craicā€, which means ā€œSheā€™s really funny.ā€


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Firstly, Ireland is a separate country from the United Kingdom. It is independent with its own language, culture and customs and weā€™re proud of that. Please donā€™t mix us up with our neighbours. Weā€™re also the better country haha


A lot of the culture centres around having a good time and a good cup of tea. We all have a positive outlook on life. Weā€™re very chatty people and we like our heart-to-heart conversations.


Some places I would recommend include: Galway, Cliffs of Moher and Dublin. Trinity College Dublin is a great spot, especially for fans of Normal People.

If you are an avid surfer, you can get big swells at Bundoran.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Bono


Unfortunately the most famous people are Bono and Conor McGregor. I wish it was Mary Robinson, the first female President of Ireland, or Saorise Ronan who is a great actress.


Bono is a bit of a meme; no one takes him seriously. Conor McGregor is a representation of the worst parts of Irishness.


What is the best dish in your native country?



Itā€™s just a bunch of vegetables and meat in a soup. Ireland is not known for its cuisine. Thereā€™s a reason why I eat Vietnamese, Japanese and Mexican food in Ireland.


Beef and Guinness Stew is also quite popular.

Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.




Comments


bottom of page