top of page

Scotland 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

Liam, 32


Born in Lanark, Scotland


Came to Australia in July 2018






















What is your occupation?


I am a Postdoc doing research at the University of Sydney. My research revolves around making fluorescent sensors and incorporating them into biological studies and trying to get an understanding of what’s inside cells.


I studied a Bachelor of Medicinal Chemistry at the University of Glasgow and a year-long internship at AstraZeneca as part of my Masters. I did a PhD in Organic Synthetic Chemistry majoring in small molecules.


The next step is to continue my research and apply for my own independent funding.


My mother was a biology teacher; my interest probably first started when I picked up a microscope as a kid.


Why did you come to Australia?


On Twitter, I stumbled upon this job advert using the hashtag #chemjobs, advertising research positions in Sydney. I liked how the research was chemistry with a biological aspect. This was back before Zoom was a thing, so I did my interviews on Skype at like 10 pm Scotland time. By the time I woke up the next day, I had the job offer.


Twitter is actually quite popular among academics, as it is an easy platform to share research and articles.


What do you like about Sydney?


My favourite thing is probably the natural beauty. We are so close to beaches and national parks, and the climate is great. We try to go to the beach at least once a week, with our favourites being Maroubra and Bungan beach.


Scotland is beautiful but in a different way. There are lots of mountains, national parks, lochs, but the climate is not as hospitable. However, when it is sunny, people appreciate it a lot more.


The variety of food that you can get here in Sydney is really great. It’s good knowing that the restaurants are run by people from that country. My favourite cuisines here would be Thai and Vietnamese.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


The housing market is shocking here. The competition to get a place to live is a bit too much and the pricing is extortionate. The rents are starting to go up back in Scotland too, so I think it’s a bit of a global problem.


There are only two time windows where I can contact people back in Scotland, either early in the day or late at night. I’ve had instances where I’ve chatted to friends and ended up falling asleep during the call.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Definitely appreciate what you’ve got. It’s a lovely place to live.


Chill out when you’re driving. Some of the drivers are a bit aggressive during rush hour.


What languages do you speak?


English, Scots


Scots is a dialect of English but the lines are very much blurred. Actually the English I speak has a bit of Scots in it, in terms of the intonation I use.


I did a bit of French in high school and now I’m trying to learn Spanish.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Sláinte.


This means health in Scottish Gaelic.



This is a word we use to describe someone who is stupid or foolish.


Bahookie


This means a person’s bottom.



A word that is commonly used to describe Scottish weather, it means dull or gloomy weather.

What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Scotland is somewhere everyone should visit. The people are very friendly and the country is naturally beautiful. I recommend visiting the Isle of Skye, Glasgow and Edinburgh.


Something that Scottish culture has is “ceilidh”, a traditional Scottish social gathering where we perform dances and play Gaelic folk music. I can play some of the Gaelic songs on guitar.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Billy Connolly


Known as the “Big Yin” (Big One) to all Scottish people, he is probably one of the most naturally funny people you’ll ever meet. He has topped many UK polls as the greatest stand-up comedian of all time. I met him when I was 13 and was completely starstruck.


I would start with all of his stand-up specials, which are readily available on Netflix. I would also watch Billy Connolly’s World Tour of Australia, which is very funny.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Haggis, neeps and tatties


It has a bad reputation but undeservedly so. Most people who’ve actually tried it probably like it. Neeps and tatties (turnips and potatoes) are usually served alongside it.


I also really like Scottish seafood. The best scallops and oysters I’ve ever eaten are in the Oyster Shed in the Island of Skye.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.



Comments


bottom of page