top of page

Japan 🇯🇵

Takahiro, 22


Born in Okinawa, Japan


Came to Australia in February 2020
























How did we meet?


Taka, as I call him, and I met through a language exchange app called Hellotalk. We have become good friends over the last few months and my Japanese has improved greatly because of him. Don't worry - he doesn't normally smile like that.


What is your occupation?


I’m studying the tourism industry and tour guiding at TAFE NSW because I’m thinking of becoming a tour guide.


I think it’s cool becoming a tour guide because that can be your main job, but you can also have side gigs alongside that.


Why did you come to Australia?


For Japanese people, we can work and study in countries like Canada, NZ and Australia very easily compared to America and Europe.


I’ve travelled to Canada before and I wanted to go to other countries that I hadn’t been to before. This is the main reason I chose Australia- I wanted to work and study.


Apparently, the number of Australians who want to learn Japanese is more than in other countries. Hence, I wanted to communicate with other Australians, like you.


What do you like about Sydney?


When it comes to people, they’re very sociable, talkative and multicultural. It is very convenient to live in Sydney- there are many language schools, vocational schools, shopping centres etc.


Since I live in Australia, I can easily travel to other cities like Cairns, Brisbane.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


Of course the cost of living. Everything is very expensive, even compared to Japan.


At night, some backstreets are scary because there are a lot of homeless people and drunkards.I don’t really like that.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Honestly, from a Japanese perspective, we want to talk to Australian people and other foreigners as well.


However, some Japanese people are very shy so if you see such people, I hope you guys try talking to them. Don’t misunderstand us- we want to make friendships.


What languages do you speak?


English, Japanese.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


いちゃりばちょーでーicharibacho-de


If you see someone, even strangers, they are your friends.

Let’s get along with them. It has that meaning.


For example, in Okinawa, elderly people often use this phrase.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


We have a very interesting history. For example, in Okinawa, we have US military bases.


The youth have different attitudes compared to the elderly regarding this.

Some Okinawans don’t like the bases, especially the elderly.


Our culture is unique so please come to Okinawa! You can easily go from mainland Japan or Taiwan


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Shohei Otani - a Major League baseball player. He’s a pitcher and most of the MLB pitchers aren’t good hitters.


Shohei can throw them at 103 miles and he can hit home runs too. I would say most people know of him


Sidenote. I also love Keisuke Honda.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Goya chanpuru. It’s an Okinawan stir fry dish and you can put anything- spam, eggs, carrots, onions, bitter melon. These are the main ingredients.


We eat it once a week and my late grandmother made it for me. I really miss it.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.



Comments


bottom of page