top of page

Jordan 🇯🇴

Fares, 29


Born in Amman, Jordan


Came to Australia in January 2019























What is your occupation?


I am a Demand Planner. This means that I am in charge of inventory and sales planning. I am currently working in the fashion industry for Tommy Hilfiger. I have previously worked for Samsung and back in Jordan I worked for McDonald’s. I studied a Bachelors of Industrial Engineering at the University of Jordan. I love what I do as it is quite a niche role and I can easily transition to supply chain and analyst roles.


Why did you come to Australia?


I’ve always wanted to live overseas. I met my wife in America and then went back to Jordan to work for two years. My preferences overseas were either America, Canada, Dubai or Australia and I chose Australia because I had the opportunity to apply for skilled visa (476) - Recent Graduates. I remember when I first arrived I worked at a warehouse operating forklifts and packing. My wife and I are in the process of obtaining PR; we plan to live here for the rest of our lives!


What do you like about Sydney?


It’s a diverse place where you can get different vibes in the same city. What I mean by this is while the CBD feels quite alive, you can experience tranquil at the nearby beaches and parks. There are no beaches in Amman whereas I’m surrounded by beautiful beaches here. Whenever I miss Middle Eastern food, I can eat it anytime.


I like how the cafes are bustling at 6am; everyone here is a coffee connoisseur. It provides me with energy which is in stark contrast to Jordan, where everything starts later. People stay up late at night and as a result, the city feels sleepy in the morning.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I feel like the city is segmented because of the dysfunctional public transport system. For example, I needed almost 2 hours to travel from Hillsdale to Manly which is totally ridiculous. I don’t like how Sydney’s roads are structured; it is very messy and not a grid like Melbourne. I like how Melbourne’s CBD is centralised whereas Sydney has smaller CBDs scattered around the city (Chatswood, Parramatta etc.)


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Keep up the good work Sydney. My wife and I feel very safe here compared to other countries I’ve lived in like America. It’s also a clean city which we appreciate very much.


What languages do you speak?


Arabic, English, Russian ( a little )


My wife is Belarussian and so I learnt some Russian in Belarus. English was actually one of my favourite school subjects growing up as I was influenced by Hollywood movies.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


فخم"


This word is pronounced Fakhem.


It literally means fancy or luxurious but in practice, is mostly used when describing something mind blowing or really cool.


I use this word probably every day.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Jordan has a massive food culture which we will discuss later.


Amman is a very crowded and is also home to a large refugee population, particularly Palestinians and Syrians. It also has a bustling nightlife, with cafes and clubs open till late at night.


Our summers aren’t as hot or humid as neighbouring Arab countries, so we receive many tourists during the summer. People obviously visit Petra, one of the Seven Ancient Wonders of the World but there are also many religious sites like Mount Nebo and the Dead Sea.


Jordan is also known for its medical tourism, mainly due to high level of expertise provided by hospitals in the country and moderate prices. Most nationalities don’t even require visas upon arrival.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


It goes without saying that the most famous person is King Abdullah II. He is a very savvy operator and this is why we have stable relations with many countries around the world. Abdullah is popular locally and internationally for maintaining Jordanian stability, and is known for promoting interfaith dialogue and a moderate understanding of Islam. He is currently the longest serving Arab leader in the world.


His wife Queen Rania is also famous for her advocacy work related to education, health and the youth.


What is the best dish in your native country?


There are two that I will list.


One is Mansaf, which is Jordan’s national dish and consists of dish of tender meat layered with paper-thin flatbread and great piles of aromatic rice. The meal is garnished with toasted nuts, then eaten with more flatbread and bowls of jameed, a tangy yogurt sauce.


My personal favourite is actually a dish called Molokhiya.


​​Molokhiyah – it is spelled in a lot of ways! – is basically the leaves of jute plant. It is very commonly used in cuisines in the Arab and North African region. The leaves in itself are slightly bitter and when cooked, gives a very slimy appearance with a fish-like smell. It is usually made into soup or stew and served with plain white rice.




Comments


bottom of page