top of page

Malaysia 🇲🇾

Edy, 32


Born in Perak, Malaysia


Came to Australia in March 2020


























What is your occupation?


Currently, I work as an UberEats driver but I’m also applying for jobs in the customer service industry. I did work for Go People and in Malaysia, I had worked as a customer service representative at Driven Communications, Malaysia's number 1 automotive blog.


Right now, even though we are in the middle of a lockdown, UberEats drivers have been earning less money. In my opinion, fewer shops are open for takeaway during this lockdown and people are keen to avoid contact with others, including delivery drivers.


Why did you come to Australia?


Coming to Australia gave me a chance to step outside of my comfort zone and gain new life experiences. My plan is to start a new life and earn money to support my family back home in Malaysia.


I am in the midst of applying for my permanent residency (PR).


What do you like about Sydney?


People are very friendly and open-minded here compared to back home; people back in Malaysia tend to be quiet and not question their backgrounds or religion. I can finally taste the freedom I’ve always pictured in my head. I don’t feel like I’m at home in Malaysia; there are always boundaries and walls between what I want to do and what is acceptable in society. For me, as long as you are a good person and contributing to society, that’s what’s important.


Another positive is that I get to experience four seasons in a year in Australia. Although in saying that, I do miss the heat and humidity of Malaysia when it’s winter in Australia.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


Shops close very early in Australia! This was quite a culture shock for me; back in Malaysia, there are so many late-night food options at hawker stalls. Here in Australia, the only options are Macca’s, kebabs and pizzas.


Sydney should install more street lights for the increased safety of people and UberEats drivers like myself. A related issue I’ve noticed is that it’s very inconvenient at times to locate the numbers of units and apartment blocks. The numbers are either too small or camouflaged with the unit building. In Malaysia, all the numbers are standardised and are prominent.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Believe it or not, you guys are lucky right now compared to other parts of the world which have been much more devastated by COVID, including Malaysia.


I see a lot of stubborn people mingling and flagrantly disregarding the rules and regulations. You do not want the situation to worsen.


What languages do you speak?


English, Bahasa Malaysia (native), Mandarin, Hakka


I learnt Mandarin from Kindergarten until Standard 6 and I learnt Hakka from my mother.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Terbaik


In English, this means “the best.” In Malaysia, people use this for anything positive, such as delicious food and life achievements.


Another word is cincai, which means whatever.

Example: Hey, where do u want to eat for dinner?

A response could be 'Cincai lah, anywhere anything also can.'


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Anyone who’s been to Malaysia has the ability to experience different cultures and cuisines, such as Malay, Chinese, Indian and Eurasian; you can visit mosques, churches or temples.


I would recommend a few places to you guys in Kuala Lumpur: Batu Caves and Jalan Alor Night Market for all the foodies. Elsewhere in Malaysia, Penang is also a very popular destination for its food culture and street art.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Mahathir Mohamad


He is the 4th and 7th prime minister of Malaysia. He made an incredible political comeback in 2018 when he became Prime Minister 15 years after the end of his first term. Until his political demise in 2020, he was the oldest serving state leader in the world.


What is the best dish in your native country?.


Rendang


It is a rich dish of meat, most commonly beef that has been slow-cooked and braised in coconut milk seasoned with a herb and spice mixture, until the liquids evaporate and the meat turns dark brown and tender, becoming caramelized and infused with rich flavours.


Another of my favourites is Ayam Masak Lemak Cili Api, a Malaysian chicken curry.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.



Comments


bottom of page