top of page

Mongolia 🇲🇳

Munkhtsetseg, 25


Born in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia


Came to Australia in February 2019























How did we meet?

Mugi was introduced to me by Monalisa (Brazil).


What is your occupation?


I used to be a marketing manager for Namir Group, a Mongolia-based investment company.


I study English at Torrens University and also have casual waitress roles to earn income.

I’m planning to get my Master in Business Administration but haven’t decided which university to study for that yet.


Why did you come to Australia?


My husband moved here first, and his relatives were already in Sydney. Hence, I also decided to join them here. We were already looking to move to a foreign country to study and work anyways.


What do you like about Sydney?


Firstly, I love Sydney’s beaches. Mongolia is a landlocked country so we don’t have the opportunity to go to the beaches! My favourite is Bondi.


I like the public transport system here, especially the trains and the ferries since Mongolia does not have those. Back home, we only have buses as a form of public transport. I appreciate the signage that we have here as well; it is really easy to get lost while riding Ulaanbataar’s buses because of the lack of signage.


I also like the free attractions that Sydney has, like the Museum of Contemporary Art and the Art Gallery of New South Wales.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I think everyone will say this, but it’s so expensive. I’ve heard that apartment rents are much cheaper in other cities like Brisbane and Melbourne.


This might sound weird but I was banned from drying too many items on my own balcony. Apparently, it would ruin the image of the apartment. I’m limited to 15 items; I essentially can’t do heavy loads of laundry. I’ve also heard similar stories from my friends.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


If you don’t travel a lot, please travel!


If you love to travel, I would say keep travelling and discovering other places.


What languages do you speak?


English, Mongolian (native), Korean


I studied Korean in high school and secondary school; we had to choose between Chinese, Japanese or Korean.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Сайн уу- (pronounced like Sainuu)


This means Hi.


Сайн байна уу- (pronounced like Sain baina uu)


This means Hello.


Knowing these greetings will leave a good impression on anyone. Use this when you meet any Mongolian!


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


We do have modern cities. Not every Mongolian lives in the countryside and not all of us ride horses! This is just to clarify a few stereotypes.


There is very beautiful nature in my country, like mountains, volcanoes, rivers and the mighty Gobi Desert. I think you should definitely check out the Khövsgöl Festival of Ice, which is held in March every year.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Genghis Khan.


Every Mongolian will say the same. He was the leader and founder of the Mongol Empire; he conquered so many countries like Russia, China, Korea and India. I’m very proud of his success.


There is also a very famous singer called Uka, who was one of the judges on The Voice Mongolia. She’s considered one of the most innovative music artists in my country. I’ve been to her concerts 5 times.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Khorkhog


It’s a Mongolian barbecue and it’s super delicious. Many foreigners also enjoy it and are impressed by the way it’s made.


It’s made by cooking pieces of meat (usually goat, but sheep is also used) inside a container which also contains hot stones and water, and is often heated from the outside. Mongolians are meat lovers.


I also really enjoy tsuivan which is a noodle stew with beef and vegetables. This is a more everyday dish compared to khorkhog.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.


Comments


bottom of page