top of page

Pakistan 🇵🇰

Ruhama, 22


Born in Okara, Pakistan


Came to Australia in September 2019























What is your occupation?


I am a postgraduate student, doing a Masters of Finance and majoring in Corporate Finance and Investment Banking. As I’m graduating at the end of this semester, I’ve applied for positions both here in Sydney and back home in Pakistan.


I’ve decided to stay in Australia until the end of this year; I’m hoping that the COVID situation improves so I can travel domestically to places like Queensland.


Why did you come to Australia?


I decided to come here because Australian universities rank highly when it comes to postgraduate finance programs.


I’ve read that Australia was truly one of the most beautiful places to stay: no matter which state you’re in, the topography and landscapes are amazing.


What do you like about Sydney?


I’m very grateful that I got the opportunity to live on campus here at the University of New South Wales. I love how central everything is. Coogee is only a 20-minute walk away for example.


People might think the public transport system is inefficient or slow here but I actually really enjoy taking the buses here. Even if I take buses at 3 am, I know nothing bad will happen to me.

On the other hand in Pakistan, public transport is not as developed and it’s honestly a gamble for women to take it. For example, I’ve never taken public transport alone in Pakistan; I always go with a group of friends or family members. Even if nothing happens to you on public transport per se, you just don’t feel safe and so you’d always end up carpooling instead.


I love the food culture: I feel like you can literally find any cuisine here.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


You definitely have to budget everything as it’s one of the most expensive cities on the planet. In Pakistan, you can get cafe food for ~$5 but I struggle to find any cafe food for less than $15 here in Sydney.


The seagulls are pesky and persistent. You’ve got to cover your food for even 20 seconds otherwise you’ll regret it.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Please come to Pakistan if you have the chance. There are so many beautiful places to go like the Biafo Glacier for nature, Indus Valley for history and Husseini Hanging Bridge for adrenaline.


What languages do you speak?


English, Urdu (native), Punjabi


I use a combination of all 3 languages when speaking with my family.


My grandparents and parents are all from Punjab province so I’ve never heard them speak Urdu. My Punjabi is not as developed as my Urdu and English because I’m only able to speak Punjabi with friends who are also from Punjab province; Pakistan is a very multilingual country.


Urdu poetry is amazing by the way, it’s what motivates me to keep learning the language.



Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


ستاروں سے آگے جہاں اور بھی ہیں، ابھی عشق کے امتحاں اور بھی ہیں، جو کھو جائے راہی تجھے آزمانے، اٹھیں گے تصور کے پھر سلسلے


Beyond the stars, there lie many more worlds

The path of love yet holds many more tests

If you get lost, o traveller

Imagination will test you in many new ways


Our national poet Muhammad Iqbal wrote this and a lot of people can relate to this stanza, including myself.


It’s just full of hope and love. Honestly, you can only truly appreciate his poetry if you know Urdu.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Our hospitality is amazing. I know we’ve spoken about some negative parts earlier but every country has its problems.


Pakistanis are the warmest and most generous people and they’ll never let you pay for food if they know you’re visiting. Speaking of the food, it’s amazing so dig in!


Today (August 14) is Pakistan Independence Day actually so it’s normal to go for picnics, hoist the flag atop our homes, wear Pakistani flag pins and watch fireworks.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Mehdi Hassan


He was the key contributor to classical music in Pakistan and brought ghazal singing to a worldwide audience. I feel like in this day and age, he definitely doesn’t get the recognition he deserves.


I listened to it growing up because my dad was also a huge fan of his.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Daal chawal


It consists of lentils and rice, and it is recommended to use both red lentils (masoor) and yellow lentils (moong). The lentils are cooked until mushy, typically flavoured with cumin and coriander for extra flavour.


You make this dish when you don’t know what you want to make. You can literally make it in 15 minutes, it is definitely a kind of comfort food.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.





Comments


bottom of page