top of page

Panama 🇵🇦

Anibal, 44


Born in Panama City, Panama


Came to Australia in May 1990























What is your occupation?


I am an electrician, operating my own business called Never Touch Electrical for the last 15 years. We operate all over Sydney, but predominantly in the Eastern suburbs. When I was fresh out of high school, I did an apprenticeship as an electrician. Originally, I wanted to become a plumber but I ended up being connected with an electrician as I had to apply for 10-15 jobs in order to get a Jobseeker allowance.


I did a Certificate of Electrotechnology at TAFE.


I also have two teenagers, who keep me very busy.


Why did you come to Australia?


There was a lot of civil unrest in the late 1980s in Panama, mainly caused by the dictatorship of Manuel Noriega. My father used to work for the Port Authority of Panama who liaised with the Americans who were operating the Panama Canal. He was involved in anti-government protests and his life was in danger. One of my uncles was acquainted with criminals, who granted him access to information about a government “hit-list”, which included my father’s name.


He then made the difficult decision to move to Australia alone. My dad didn’t want to move to America - there is a lot of politics and history between America and Panama. He didn’t make it in time to apply for a Canadian refugee visa. By chance, he stumbled upon a magazine promoting Australia and decided to apply there.


What do you like about Sydney?


What is there not to like about Sydney? This is the best city on the planet. I’m quite well-travelled but every time I come back here, I just find it special. Whether it’s the weather or the beaches, I just am grateful to live in a beautiful city full of beautiful people.


Driving past Bondi Beach at 7am in the glistening sun is just an unbelievable feeling. I’ve always been around the ocean growing up in Panama.


There’s a lot of opportunities at your disposal too.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I would say my main gripe is the traffic. I’m on the road most days and I spend a fair amount on tolls each week. That being said, there aren't really many things to complain about Sydney.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


As Sydneysiders, we’re becoming more tolerant and understanding of other cultures. Carry on this trajectory - be more inclusive, be more open. Be normal and don’t judge others. Help wherever you can.


What languages do you speak?


English, Spanish


I am fluent in both, and can read and write both. Nowadays, I don’t get to speak Spanish as much. In saying that, she learnt Spanish in Guatemala during our Central American trip in 2002.


In Panama, I was going to a bilingual English-Spanish school. As I lived in the Bronx, New York, before coming to Australia, I perfected my English there and still speak with an American accent to this day. Therefore, when I came to Australia, I was the de facto translator for my family as my parents didn’t speak a word of English.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Que xopa?


This is how Panamanians say “What’s up?” It’s similar to the expression “Que paso?” but Panamanians like to change the order of such expressions.


Another very common word is Ofi, but it means ok.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Panama is a tiny country in Central America but there is a lot to do. It’s a trait in countries which are quite poor for people to be really down to earth.


I recommend people visit the following places:


  • Panama City - one of the most modern metropolises in Central America. Also known as the Dubai of Latin America.

  • San Blas Islands - pristine islands well known for their natural beauty. They’re self-governed by the indigenous Kuna Yala tribe.

  • Chiriqui Viejo - river where you can do whitewater rafting.


There’s also a famous town called Boquete, which is located in green mountain highlands. It is a very popular place for Panamanians and tourists, as it’s much cooler (due to its 1200m elevation).


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Roberto Duran


He is a former Panamanian boxer who is one of the “Four Kings of Boxing” along with Marvin Hagler, Thomas Hearns, Ray Leonard who dominated boxing in the 1980s.


Ruben Blades


He is an icon in Panama and probably one of the most famous music artists, performing most often in the salsa and Latin jazz genres. One of his songs called Patria is essentially the second national anthem of Panama.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Arroz con pollo


This is simply a slowly cooked soupy pot of chicken, rice and some veggies and spices.


A very popular soup is called sancocho, which is a traditional Latin American stew made of Chicken, yuca, potatoes, plantains, and corn that are simmered together. I try to have it as often as possible, however some of the root vegetables are hard to source here in Australia.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.












Comentarios


bottom of page