top of page

Philippines 🇵🇭

Rutsy, 38


Born in Davao City, Philippines


Came to Australia in August 2017





















How did we meet?


Rutsy and I met when we were on the same tour to visit the Amalfi Coast in Italy. This was during my year-long exchange when I studied at Copenhagen Business School.


In Rutsy's words, "We met while we were clinging on for dear life during the bumpiest, most unforgettable boat ride to Capri!"


What is your occupation?


I am a business analyst, currently contracting with BP.


When I first came to Australia, I worked with Health NSW as a project management analyst. I’ve also had a short stint at AGL.


Why did you come to Australia?


I once filled out a random survey that asked: “Where would you like to live in the world?” I thought: beaches, wildlife, and laid back nature. I shot for the moon and said that if I could, I would like to live in Australia. It was a pipe dream. Then I forgot about it.


Many years later, when I had already travelled a fair bit, I wanted to settle down in a country that is meritocratic. I liked the Australian spirit of having a fair go.


I’ve lived in the UK, Canada, Malaysia and Belgium, but the best place for me is Australia. It’s not too far from the Philippines: I can still visit my family whenever I want. But I’m now in a place where I can build a place for myself and start afresh. I think I've found my place in the world.


What do you like about Sydney?


It’s visually arresting. There are so many spots where it’s just so beautiful, for example crossing the Harbour Bridge and seeing the Opera House. It’s so pretty!


I like how Sydney is very multicultural, I’ve never felt threatened or alienated because of my race. It’s very diverse and the people are very friendly. It’s also easy to integrate into Sydney.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


The rent is insanely expensive. Let’s not even talk about buying a place, I don’t even know when I can contemplate buying my own place.


The property market is overvalued in my opinion.


Other than that, it’s great. Maybe I’m just wearing my rose-coloured glasses.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Continue being inclusive and I would like to thank you for welcoming me into the city.


What languages do you speak?


English, Tagalog, Cebuano (native).


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Atchup boulevard- loosely translated to cool.


It’s very street and only people in Davao will understand or use it.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


It’s not as chaotic as the world perceives it to be. In reality, people are very kind-hearted and welcoming.


Definitely head to our world-class beaches. However, also make sure you respect the environment and leave it the way you found it. Places like Boracay have become victims of their own success.


Also, one more thing: Filipino cuisine is amazing. It's going to be the next big thing- that's my fearless forecast. I guess I've told you many things; I couldn't stop at one.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Manny Pacquiao- the legendary boxer.


During his fights, the streets will go quiet because everyone will be at home watching. He has since entered politics and is now a senator.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Adobo - it’s like our unofficial national dish.


Almost everyone has their own version of it. It’s so simple to make; the ingredients are meat, soy sauce, vinegar, garlic, bay leaves. This is the go-to comfort food for Filipinos. Preferably, top it over rice.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.




Comentários


bottom of page