top of page

Singapore 🇸🇬

Clarissa, 22


Born in Singapore, Singapore


Came to Australia in July 2016 and left in December 2019





























What is your occupation?


I am working as a research coordinator as an assistant in Tan Tock Seng, one of Singapore’s public hospitals. I studied Psychology and Biology at the University of Sydney.


Why did you come to Australia?


I’ve always wanted to study overseas. Actually, the US was my first choice but my parents preferred Australia since it was a lot closer.


I’ve visited New Zealand before and I don’t think I’m suited to the slow pace of life over there. I chose to study at the University of Sydney over the University of Melbourne because I prefer Sydney’s beaches.


What did you like about Sydney?


I love Sydney’s climate because there are four distinct seasons. In Singapore, it's hot and humid year-round so I really appreciated Sydney's weather.


I like the laidback culture and the people; they are very friendly, open-minded and unafraid to strike up a conversation with complete strangers. Back in Singapore, this would be considered very strange.


There are lots of opportunities for road trips: Blue Mountains, Kiama Blowhole, Port Stephens.


What didn’t you like about Sydney?


The price of food. Chinese food is so expensive compared to Singapore; we have hawker centres where you can eat a proper meal for $2!


Everything closes early in Australia. In Singapore, we have prata stores that are usually open 23 or 24 hours a day; this is where you can get supper.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


English is every Singaporean’s first language; don’t be surprised when we can speak it well. There were so many people that were surprised I could speak English well, after first telling them I was from Singapore.


What languages do you speak?


English, Mandarin, Bahasa Indonesian


Singlish is Singaporean English, there are several languages like Mandarin, Bahasa Melayu, English and Tamil that we combine. It's regarded as having low prestige but we still often use it.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Walao eh- this is a Singlish phrase that is similar to “Oh my god.”


It is very versatile and can be both positive or negative depending on the context.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


We are a multicultural nation made up of many different races: Malays, Indians, Chinese, Eurasians.


We’re not part of China! We’re a tiny dot located south of the Johor Strait, right underneath Malaysia.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Lee Hsien Loong, the Prime Minister of Singapore.


He is very popular in Singapore as he was the eldest son of the first Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew, the founding father of Singapore.


He is proficient in Malay as well. When he gives speeches, he would first give them in English, and then Mandarin and lastly Malay. He has also studied Russian, a fun fact.


What is the best dish in your native country?


I would say Singaporean chilli crab, especially when you eat it with Chinese buns. One of the best spots to eat is at Jumbo Seafood Restaurant.


One of my other personal favourites is black carrot cake; you can get it at most hawker centres.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.

Comments


bottom of page