top of page

Solomon Islands 🇸🇧

Jaydee, 21


Born in Honiara, Solomon Islands


Came to Australia in February 2015























What is your occupation?


I am predominantly a student ambassador at the University of New South Wales, and a Year 12 Mentor with William Clarke College. Basically I help Year 12 students with English and Humanities. It’s not a huge time commitment but it’s extremely rewarding; I’m using my strengths and working with people 1 on 1. This is something I want to continue into the future.


I am studying a Bachelor of Politics/Philosophy/Economics - it is marketed as a changemaker’s degree. Ideally, in the future, I would like to work as a diplomat for the Solomon Islands. Right now, I feel like I’ll be going back to the Solomon Islands after graduating from university. I see myself adopting the responsibilities and helping my local community as much as possible.


Why did you come to Australia?


I came initially as part of a scholarship to study at high school in Australia: William Clarke College offered scholarships to students in the Solomon Islands. When I moved here at the age of 13, my father was with me for the first week in Sydney, but afterwards he went back. I’ve lived with a total of 5 host families in Sydney all across the city.


When I graduated high school in 2020, I didn’t feel like I was ready to go back and wanted to instead pursue a university degree. Through the DFAT, I found a few scholarships which were catered towards Asian/Pacific Islander students and successfully applied for a Australia Awards Scholarship.


What do you like about Sydney?


In a lot of ways, Sydney has grown into my second home. What’s most attractive is its natural beauty. I just love taking a photo of Circular Quay and sending photos of it back home to the Solomons.


I think there’s always places to discover in Sydney. I come from Honiara, which is like 10km long so I feel like I know the place like the back of my hand. One of my favourite things is just getting off at a random train station and exploring the suburb, and having a cup of coffee at a local cafe.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I love the multicultural aspect of Sydney but it seems like it’s very divided. The east/west divide is real; if you go to suburbs like Vaucluse, it’s very Anglicised. When my mother arrived in Sydney, she was shocked to see the homelessness and abject poverty of others whilst other people are so well off. The inequality is rife and dissatisfying.


In the Solomons, there is a community aspect to everything and family will always help you out. I know it’s difficult to achieve in a city of 5 million people, but it’d be much more just if people looked out for each other. This was especially evident during the COVID-19 lockdowns, when some sides of the city were treated differently from others.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Don’t be afraid to say good morning to people on the streets. This is the thing that small island nations do well. Connect with strangers and create a real sense of community.


Fundamentally, the principle is to create a friendly community.


What languages do you speak?


English, Pijin


Pijin is basically broken English. It’s basically the de-facto official language, as hardly anyone actually speaks English in the Solomons besides government officials.


In my primary school, it was mandatory to learn English so I was pretty proficient in English by the time I came to Australia. We would get detention if we didn’t speak English at primary school.


I would like to learn German because my great grandfather was a German expat. I also went to a Chinese school called Chung Wah School, which was built by the Chinese Association of the Solomons. I learnt Mandarin for a bit in Year 4, and I really want to pick it up again.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


You wan tok blo me


A “wan tok” is someone that belongs in your network. There’s a sense of obligation, attachment and connection. If I meet a Solomon Islander or Pacific Islander, I’d say this phrase to confirm that they are part of my network now. It insinuates a safety net.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?

There are Melanesians, as well as Micronesians and Polynesians in the Solomon Islands. All ethnicities live harmoniously and celebrate each other’s cultures and festivities.


Honiara is old and dusty, but there are stadiums being built for the Pacific Games which are due to take place this year.


The tourism infrastructure isn’t as developed as somewhere like Fiji, but it’s very authentic.


Some places that are noteworthy include:


  • Kennedy Island, an uninhabited island where former US President was JFK was a castaway during WWII

  • There are world-famous diving sites, including White Beach and Leru Cut.

  • Island hopping from Gizo


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Someone we all learned about at school was Jacob Charles Vouza, who was a police officer of the British Solomon Islands Protectorate. In our nation, he symbolises courage and humility to work with the colonisers in a sense.


Vouza became a scout for the Americans after he rescued an American Pilot who was shot down. On one of his missions he was captured. After he was tortured extremely to reveal information about the Americans, the Japanese left him in the jungle to die. He chewed through the rope and was able to reach the American camp with important information about the Japanese plans. The American victory in the Battle of Tenaru was said to have been partly the result of his information.


What is the best dish in your native country?



It is a savoury cake which involves grated cassava, sweet potato, and coconut milk. It is then baked in a motu (outdoor oven) under scorching hot stones, banana leaves, and even a layer of insulating blanket.


Every time I go back to the Solomons, this is the first thing I eat. It takes a long time to make, but it is well worth it.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.


Comments


bottom of page