top of page

Vanuatu 🇻🇺

Merelyn, 42


Came to Australia in September 2010


Born in Espiritu Santo, Vanuatu























What is your occupation?


I worked in the tourism and hospitality industry for over 10 years, working as a tour operator.

I was blessed with knowing businesspeople who kept offering me their business cards and told me that I could work with them at any time. Because my parents couldn’t pay my year 12 school fees in time, I missed out on the opportunity to apply for a scholarship that would’ve enabled me to study tourism in a New Zealand university.


I work as an Activity Officer at PCYC New South Wales. At the moment I am a casual employee as I will be starting a double degree in Bachelor of Social Work and Criminology at Western Sydney University. I want to help educate the youth of our country and make sure they know their rights and how to stand up for themselves in society. There is a lot of corruption in the system and my children and I were victims of this racist system.


Why did you come to Australia?


I was sexually assaulted by an ex-army Australian that I met while in Vanuatu. He pretty much controlled me and I was at his mercy - we ended up moving to Australia with my elder son. He raped me several times and treated me worse than an animal. There were several attempted murders; he didn’t want me alive if I wasn’t to be with him. The events left an indelible mark on me and have changed the way I view the world. It makes me the person that I am today. I came to Australia but I am seeking justice for me and my family. It took me nearly 15 years for me to muster the courage to speak up and tell the police about my story.


As far as I am aware, he is still in New South Wales and has never been held accountable for his actions.


What do you like about Sydney?


There are a lot of sightseeing opportunities in Sydney, such as the Opera House. I enjoy talking to different people from all walks of life.


Deep down I am a very adventurous person but I need to ensure my finances are intact before I explore other places in Sydney. Right now I am focussed purely on my studies and my career path.

What don’t you like about Sydney?


One thing I don’t like about Sydney is that people don’t have the time to say “Hello.” It’s sad that we don’t get that as I am used to this kind of friendliness and hospitality in Vanuatu.

Most people are going through something - just a smile and a hello won’t charge you anything. Everyone is too busy and focused on themselves.


The lack of support services for victims of sexual assault and rape in the community is also disheartening. Most of the organisations give misleading information. It makes the situation worse as the victims’ time is wasted.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Sydney is a nice place. Let’s all work together to make it a better place. When people come to Sydney, they should have the best experience so they really want to come back here!


What languages do you speak?


Tangoa, English, French, Bislama


Tangoa (meaning speaking) is the native tongue of my mother, who is from Tangoa Island.


Bislama is an English-based creole language that is one of the 3 official languages of Vanuatu.


I also speak other languages that are spoken in other nearby villages.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Ca lo ruhu


This means “How are you?” in Tangoa.


There are around 400 people on the island who can speak the language.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Often known as the “Happiest People on Earth”, Vanuatu has 83 islands. The people always stop by and say hi. They are simple people and have a connection with the land.


I highly recommend people visit my local island Espiritu Santo because it is clean compared to Port Vila. The pink sands of Champagne Beach spill into warm waters filled with wrecks and reefs begging to be explored by Espiritu Santo holiday-makers. I highly recommend you all visit!


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Viran Molisa Trief (born 1977) is a Ni-Vanuatu jurist who has been a member of the Supreme Court of Vanuatu since July 2019. She previously served as Solicitor General, and was the first woman to hold each role.


She also happens to be my cousin!


I can also list any number of politicians but I don’t know if they can be classed as “famous.”


What is the best dish in your native country?



I like it cooked with garlic and coconut cream. When you can cook it, the crab has its own natural flavour. It’s very unique as this crab only exists in Vanuatu. The flavour is just so amazing and it is so tender.


Unfortunately, the crabs are endangered and are facing extinction.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.

Comments


bottom of page