top of page

Syria 🇸🇾

Roy, 22


Born in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia and heritage is from Aleppo, Syria


Came to Australia in December 2017























What is your occupation?


My first job was at Pharmacy Mart just helping out customers and I had also worked at a tobacco shop, managing the operations 3 days a week.


Currently, I’m a loss prevention officer - basically an undercover security officer. I’m normally stationed at Bunnings, Woolies, Dan Murphys or Big W, stopping potential thieves in their tracks. Sometimes I’m also called upon to work at pubs and clubs on the weekends. My work location changes frequently, it’s wherever the company AVS sends me. I feel a sense of freedom in my work because I have no manager micromanaging me. The main reason I quit the tobacco shop was that I didn’t like providing customer service every day.


I’m also currently studying for a Diploma of Business at Western Sydney University.


Why did you come to Australia?


My family left Syria because of the ongoing Syrian civil war.


When we were forced to leave, the war was still very much going on - ISIS, bombs, you name it - but Aleppo at the moment has improved significantly in terms of security. At the moment, there is still no running water or electricity but at least the fighting has almost ended.


The reason why we chose Australia, in particular, is because we already have some relatives living in Sydney - for example, my cousin Chris has been living here for 30 years.

We had heard that the government would provide us with significant support in establishing our new lives here in Australia, for example with housing, furniture, rental support, medical expenses etc.


What do you like about Sydney?


I do like how I can live independently here in Sydney. Back in Syria, where I lived for 14 years, I would depend on my parents for basically everything. You’re not constrained by society and you can strive to achieve your dreams.


There are plenty of opportunities here in Sydney in terms of work or education. It’s not really hard to find work here as long as you put in the effort.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


It’s a bit stressful living here. Because of the high cost of living in Sydney, I feel like I have to work extremely hard just to make ends meet. Neither of my parents currently work so I’m the sole breadwinner in my household.


My mum’s currently learning English since she doesn’t know many words and my dad is currently 60 so it’s a bit difficult for him to enter the workforce at his age. In saying that, I helped him study to get a security licence and he’s currently working as a static guard.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Comply with all of the rules and regulations: I don’t want this year to be as bad as last year.


Treat the pandemic seriously. I see many instances of people not abiding by social distancing rules and people complaining about QR sign-in codes.


What languages do you speak?


Arabic (native), English


In Saudi Arabia, I went to the Oxford School to study English.


I speak a little bit of French; it was mandatory in Syria along with English in school.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


بنت الحلال - bint elhalal

Bint means daughter or wife. Halal means something that is permissible. Hence, the phrase basically means a woman you’re allowed to marry. It’s intended to be humorous.

تضرب انت - tudrub enta

This phrase is the English equivalent to ‘damn you’ or ‘to hell with you’ or ‘screw you’…you get the point.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


I want to invite you to my country. It’s a beautiful place and everyone is sociable, generous and friendly. I recommend two places, in particular, Damascus and Aleppo.


The Aleppo Citadel is considered one of the oldest and largest castles in the world: there are plenty of caves and you’d probably need more than 5 hours to explore the whole thing.


Aleppo is also known for its delicious food.


I’ve been to Damascus only once with my basketball team but I still recommend it because I’ve heard nice things.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Bashar al-Assad


You will see posters of him on people’s cars. Everyone likes him - I would say the vast majority of Syrians support him till this day. Heck, 60% of Syrians voted for him in a recent election.


The West has an agenda against him: they wanted to oust him, which didn’t work at all.

Before the Syrian Civil War, we were doing very well and were living a perfect life - coming to Australia wouldn’t have even been part of our thinking.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Mloukhieh


It translates to “of the kings” and it’s a leafy green vegetable that is native to the Middle East. I like eating it with rice or chicken.


This is something I’d like to eat every day.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.

Yorumlar


bottom of page