top of page

Thailand 🇹🇭

Natthaya (Millie), 20


Born in Bangkok, Thailand


Came to Australia in January 2017






















How did we meet?


Millie's sister used to work at the same Thai restaurant as Harry (South Africa). He's the one who introduced us.


What is your occupation?


I’m studying for a Bachelor of Engineering (Mechatronics) at Macquarie University.


Why did you come to Australia?


I tagged along with my parents, who came to Australia to give my siblings and I a better life.


I actually studied high school in Singapore but it was still easier for us to immigrate here compared to Singapore.


We also had relatives who were living in Sydney, Australia at the time, so I guess this is why we chose to move here.


What do you like about Sydney?


I like the climate, it is definitely preferable to Singapore or Thailand, where it’s hot and humid throughout the year.


I know this might sound surprising but I actually think some Thai dishes are tastier than back homes, such as papaya salad. They’re so authentic! Of course, this isn’t the case with all restaurants as some are Westernised to cater to Australians’ palates.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


The train trackwork annoys me, it happens seemingly every day! It’s so annoying having to change trains at Central since there are like 25 platforms.


Even though I said earlier that I like the climate, I hate the summer here. The temperature is even hotter than Bangkok! The dryness actually irritates my skin.


Everything is so expensive here.

One bowl of noodles will cost you at least $10 whereas you can get noodles at a food court in Thailand for around 60-80 baht ($3-$4).


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


You’re lucky that the government takes care of you. Like for example, student loans. I’ve never heard of this in Thailand before.


What languages do you speak?


English, Thai (native), Mandarin.


I can speak Mandarin because I’m Thai-Chinese, but it’s only so-so.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


อร่อย


Aroy - this is Thai for delicious.


You can say this while you’re eating our delicious cuisine.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


There are a lot of tourist hotspots in my country, for example, islands like Phuket, Samui, Koh Chang, the third-largest island which is affectionately named “Elephant Island” because of its huge size and elephant-shaped headland.


Keep in mind the Thai King is definitely on top of the social pyramid; it’s illegal to step on the Thai baht because it has his face on it.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Lisa, the Thai rapper who is part of Blackpink.


Obviously, with the rise of Kpop, she’s now known worldwide. I’m not even a Kpop fan yet I still think she’s the most famous person.


I think she’s a very talented dancer.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Hor mok, steamed Thai curry fish custard. I think it’s really nice because the texture is soft like custard when you eat it, but it’s also spicy.


There are a lot of rich flavours, it’s made from fish (salmon or tilapia), red curry paste, lime leaves, sugar and coconut cream.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.



Comments


bottom of page