top of page

Turkey 🇹🇷

Furkan, 29


Born in Ankara, Turkey


Came to Australia in November 2018























What is your occupation?


I studied Industrial Engineering at Bilkent University and am currently working as a Configuration Analyst at Finisar, looking after the manufacturing systems. They are a manufacturer of optical communication components and subsystems. Huawei and Nokia are just some of our clients, who build modules using the Finisiar components and then sell them on to telecommunications companies like Telstra.


Why did you come to Australia?

After doing a student exchange in Germany for 6 months, I was inspired to live overseas permanently. The student exchange experience allowed me to meet people from different backgrounds and expand my horizons. As I had an engineering degree, I could get an Australian visa called a Recognised Graduate Visa 476. My other choice was Canada but I didn’t want to go there because it’s too cold.


What do you like about Sydney?


I will definitely say the multicultural nature of Sydney appeals to me as someone who wanted to meet people from different backgrounds. You can access nature like the Blue Mountains and national parks within an hour’s drive from Sydney; it doesn’t really feel like a concrete jungle In Ankara, you don’t see too many parks due to the arid climate. I feel like Australia puts a lot of emphasis on preserving its natural environments.


I have attended several music concerts at the Sydney Opera House and love the unique architecture of the building. I actually attended a soul/jazz concert just last Friday to watch Hiatus Kaiyote.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I feel like Sydney lacks a lot of cultural and musical events; the nightlife is lacking for such a cosmopolitan and global city. For example, after 3 pm, all cafes are closed. Back in Turkey, you can find bars and cafes open at any time. People would start going out at around 11 pm or midnight whereas Sydney is pretty quiet by that time. It all comes back to cultural differences


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Make sure you throw your rubbish in the correct bin! I hate seeing people litter as it isn’t a good look and ruins the natural environment for everyone.


What languages do you speak?


Turkish, English


I took some German courses when I was on exchange there but I don’t remember any of them. My university education was entirely taught in English so I was quite familiar with the language. I put a lot of effort into learning English because I knew I would be living abroad in the future and communicating with different people.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Kolay gelsin


It means ‘good luck’ or ‘take it easy.’ You use this most of the time with anyone which is what I love about the phrase. It’s a way of acknowledging someone else’s work and effort.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Turkey actually changed its name recently from Turkey to Turkiye. I think it has something to do with the constant confusion between the country and the bird. It’s like a rebranding of the country.


The economic situation is very dire at the moment and there is a lot of politics involved. Inflation has reached 75% but the interest rates continue to remain low. When I went back to Turkey in December last year, a standard lunch would cost double what it normally would.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Mustafa Kemal Ataturk


He was a revolutionary and the founding father of the Republic of Turkey. He is revered greatly in the country and he’s on every denomination of the Turkish lira.


He led the Turkish National Movement and subsequently abolished the Ottoman empire, paving the way for the foundation of the Turkish Republic. He initiated a program of political, economic and cultural reforms and Turkey is the modern, secular country it is today because of him.


What is the best dish in your native country?


I would say kebabs are quintessentially synonymous with Turkey. The kebabs in Australia are usually doner kebabs, which is only one variety of kebabs. One of my favourites is Adana kebab, consisting of long, hand-minced meat mounted on a wide iron skewer. I actually don’t really like steaks as it’s too plain for my liking.


Iskender kebab is another Turkish specialty. It consists of sliced doner kebab meat topped with hot tomato sauce over pita bread and slathered with sheep’s milk butter and yoghurt. Out of the Turkish restaurants I’ve been to in Sydney, my favourite is Taste of Turkey. Get the Adana kebab!


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.


Comments


bottom of page