top of page

Uzbekistan 🇺🇿

Sherzod, 23


Born in Termez, Uzbekistan


Came to Australia in October 2018























What is your occupation?


Since the beginning of 2020, I have been working as an accountant at Inline Partners at Drummoyne. I’m studying Accounting at La Trobe University’s Sydney campus and am graduating in 2 weeks’ time.


In the future, I want to be a tax accountant at a prestigious accounting firm like one of the Big Four.


Why did you come to Australia?


My brother immigrated six months before me and started his own construction company. That was the impetus I needed to emigrate here as I had someone I could rely on.


I didn’t have a particular desire to come to Australia but now I am quite satisfied with my life here. I intend to apply for a skilled migrant visa soon so I can permanently live here.



What do you like about Sydney?


I like pretty much everything. If I had to name a few reasons, I like the beaches and nature. My favourite is Manly Beach and I like hanging around Hyde Park as it’s situated close to my university campus.


Back in Uzbekistan, locals tend to be more reserved and it’s unusual to smile at strangers. However, in Australia, it’s nice how the locals are friendly and would smile at you.


It’s also a very bustling city: even at night time, this city is still awake. Back in my hometown, it’s rare to see people in the streets after 10 pm.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


It is unfortunate that it doesn’t snow in Sydney in winter. The seasons are also completely flipped so Christmas and New Year’s Day are scorching whereas I’m used to a white Christmas. It’s just something I’ll have to get used to.


It’s quite sad to see the number of homeless people in Sydney, especially in the CBD. It’s difficult to describe the feeling as I was shocked to see that in a first-world, developed country. In Uzbekistan, I don’t see as many homeless people; I believe that if someone were to experience hardships over there, relatives would more readily provide assistance.

On a related note, I pitied how many drug addicts I saw in places like Kings Cross.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Thank you Sydneysiders for complying with the rules and regulations during the pandemic. We have earned our freedoms by abiding by these strict rules, which are designed to keep us safe.


Another thing to point out is that Uzbekistan is not Pakistan! Whenever I say where I’m from, people confuse it for the latter. We are totally different countries.


What languages do you speak?


Uzbek (native), Russian, English


Although Uzbek is my native language, I would consider Russian my first language as it’s the language I’m most comfortable with when expressing my thoughts. I also went to Russian primary and high school.


I also learnt some French in Uzbekistan but I’ve forgotten most of it due to a lack of practice.


I didn’t actually learn any English in school and only really started learning towards the end of high school (equivalent grade in Uzbekistan compared to the Australian education system). However, by the time I came to Australia, I could already express my thoughts eloquently.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Musaffo Osmon


This means a clear and peaceful sky. It has a sarcastic connotation because the economic situation is worsening in Uzbekistan. People would cynically say “At least we have a peaceful sky.”


The economy is in a downturn because of COVID, endemic corruption and mismanagement of resources. We’re also experiencing a “brain drain” at the moment.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Although the Uzbek state was created in 1924 as one of the constituent republics of the Soviet Union, the history of our land dates back ~2500 years.


As such, there are many historical cities like Samarkand and Bukhara, focal points of the ancient Silk Road trade. Our country deserves a lot of tourists; it is quite underrated. However, I will need to warn you that it does get quite hot. For example, Tashkent is 40 degrees today (June 6, 2021) and it’ll get even hotter in July. The best time to visit is March or April; springtime is ideal.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Alisher Usmanov


He’s an Uzbek-born oligarch who made his money in metal, mining operations and investments. He is also president of the FIE, the international governing body of fencing.


Other people worth mentioning include Islam Karimov, the first president of Uzbekistan.


Muhammad ibn Musa al-Khwarizmi


He’s the founder of algebra. We like to claim him even though he often referred to Persian culture. He was born in Khwarezm, part of which is in modern-day Uzbekistan. To commemorate him, we have a statue of him in Khiva, Uzbekistan.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Palov


This dish is commonly found throughout Central Asia and every country has its own style. Palov is considered our national dish. I’m not a big cook so I’ll just leave a recipe here. During special occasions like weddings, funerals and childbirth celebrations, you’re bound to see palov.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.

Comments


bottom of page