top of page

Botswana 🇧🇼

Amaan, 26


Born in Colombo, Sri Lanka and relocated to Gaborone, Botswana when 10 months old


Came to Australia in February 2016























What is your occupation?


I am an actuarial analyst at ICare Australia. Actuaries are the mathematicians behind insurance products. We calculate prices of premiums based on the risks of different clientele. I studied a Bachelor of Actuarial Studies at the University of New South Wales.


My father was an accountant and provided us with a lot of career advice. Maths has always been my strong suit and it was my main focus in school. I knew that I needed to stay in that field and look for an engaging role. I get bored easily if I’m not in an engaging or challenging role.


Why did you come to Australia?


My father applied for permanent residency for our entire family in 2006. At the time, as he was a skilled migrant (accountant), it was very easy for us to migrate here. He is a very well-informed person and made a lot of considerations before choosing to move here. He worked for Mechanised Farming, which sold farming equipment (tractors etc) and this company was taken over. He essentially applied for Australian PR as an insurance policy, as he wasn’t sure what would happen to him in terms of work.


The funny thing is that only me and my brother (who moved in 2020) moved to Australia. I am very grateful to have received Australian PR, as I am entitled to Medicare and far cheaper university tuition fees.


What do you like about Sydney?


There are a lot of facilities and resources at our disposal. One of the biggest culture shocks was that you could just knock on anyone’s house. There is crime in Botswana, but you just learn to adapt. For example, you don’t hold your phone in your hands. I do appreciate that in Australia, crime is not that big of a factor.


The public transport system is amazing. Yes, it isn’t very consistent but you can usually get from place to place in ease. For example, Gaborone doesn’t have a functioning public transport system, but it is also a very small city.


The access to south-east Asian cuisines, such as Thai, Malaysian, Indonesian, is amazing here. This is something that I didn’t have access to in Botswana.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


The place is huge. Back home in Botswana, I can visit any of my friends in 15 minutes. A lot of people commute for almost an hour here in Sydney.


The nightlife in Sydney isn’t great. As a Muslim, I don’t drink and bars/clubs are the only places open till night. Whenever we went back to Sri Lanka, we’d often catch up with family at cafes in the middle of the night.


I also think the work-life balance is comparatively better in Botswana. My dad would come home every day to eat lunch with us. Obviously it’s very much industry-dependent but I feel like when you factor in the long commutes, it’s more like 8am to 6pm than 9am to 5pm. Australia’s work-life balance is definitely outstanding though, compared to other advanced economies.


On average, the food quality isn’t as good as that in Asia or southern Africa. I feel like the restaurants here cater to a European palate.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


I appreciate how warm and kind most Sydneysiders are. They’ll stop by and help you with a flat tyre.


What languages do you speak?


English


Botswana’s national language is Tswana (Setswana), which is a Bantu language spoken in Southern Africa by about 8.2 million people.


My parents only ever spoke English at home. My father’s side speaks Sinhalese and my mother’s side speaks Tamil. I was never taught either language!


If I were to learn a language, it would be Sinhalese as it’s the common tongue of Sri Lankans.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


O ska nwa metsi ka foroko


Don’t drink water with a fork (don’t force a situation)


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


It is probably the best place in the world to view wildlife. Okavango Delta is one of Africa's last great natural sanctuaries, a pristine and rich wilderness home to vast concentrations of wildlife. Nearby wildlife reserves include the Chobe National Park and Moremi Game Reserve


It is very multicultural; I went to school with very diverse backgrounds. The public school system is extremely underdeveloped; if you want a good education, you need to go to private schools and international schools.


It is one of the largest diamond-producing countries in the world. The Jwaneng diamond mine, owned by a partnership between the government of Botswana and De Beers.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Seretse Khama


He was the first President of Botswana. During his presidency, the country underwent rapid economic and social progress. I feel like Botswana is doing a lot better than most of its Southern African neighbours.


His grandchildren actually went to the same school as me.


Khama’s son, Ian Khama, was the fourth President of Botswana.



What is the best dish in your native country?


The most popular dish in Botswana is called seswaa.


As the national dish of Botswana, seswaa is served at weddings, funerals, and other celebrations. Seswaa's ingredients are very straightforward: meat on the bone, water, and salt. The salt, added while the meat cooks, helps to soften the meat until it is ready to be pounded with a pestle and served atop pap, which is stiffened cornmeal.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.

Comments


bottom of page