top of page

South Africa 🇿🇦

Kaylin, 23


Born in Randburg, Johannesburg, South Africa


Came to Australia in December 2014























What is your occupation?


I work as a Strategy Analyst at the National Australia Bank. There are two aspects of my role - analysing the business bank performance (mortgage sector) and predicting what aspects to focus on in the future (strategy, marketing). We look to address current issues and potential future problems. I gravitated towards the role because it’s more a ‘thinking’ role than ‘doing.’


I did an internship at Citibank and then did a graduate role in Personal Banking there, before it got acquired by NAB.


I studied a Bachelor of Commerce at Macquarie University majoring in Marketing and International Business.


Why did you come to Australia?


It’s actually a pretty crazy story.


When I was 5 years old, my grandparents’ house in South Africa was robbed at gunpoint. Everything of value was stolen, including electronics, jewellery etc. My parents then decided that this wasn’t the country they wanted to raise their kids. It’s the kind of event that lives with you for life.


Rampant government corruption, the lack of infrastructure and economic inequality are the main reasons behind the rising crime rates, which are getting worse by the day.


The opportunities are very limited in South Africa. The government brought in this policy called BBE (Black Economic Empowerment) which basically encouraged businesses to hire black people. It was basically a reverse apartheid. Bringing in that kind of law just made it much harder for white people to find jobs and go to universities.


We applied for PR and they took seven years to look at our application but when they did look at us, they gave us permanent residency. We were fortunate that my parents have skills that were in demand by Australia at the time.


My dad went over first while my mum, brother and I stayed back to pack up the house and say goodbye to friends.


My dad is the Chief Information Officer (IT) for Deloitte Australia. My mum is a primary school teacher.


What do you like about Sydney?


What isn’t there to like? I love everything to do with Sydney in general. It’s an incredibly multicultural city.


I love the public transport system here! There’s nothing like this in South Africa. Sydney in my eyes has the most amazing public transport!


There’s also just endless opportunities. You can do anything you want - as long as you are willing to work for it. When I first arrived in Australia, I was working in KFC serving chicken and chips.


Initiatives like Medicare and superannuation are just incredible! There are no such initiatives in South Africa. My grandparents who live in South Africa have just recently retired and are destitute.


I’m so grateful for everything that I have been given here.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


This is actually a really hard question to answer.


I don’t like the rain. I don’t like days where it’s just cloudy and drizzling for days.


I do miss how South Africans are super friendly - they’ll always start a conversation with you and have lots of energy. The animals and nature are just stunning - you can’t not appreciate the beauty of the country itself.


In Johannesburg, the climate is less sporadic - it’s not as hot in summer and not as cold in winter.


As you can tell, I’m scraping the barrel when it comes to finding things I dislike.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Open your eyes and see the opportunities that are out there. There is government help. Don’t despair if things go wrong - make a plan!


What languages do you speak?


Afrikaans, English


There are 11 official languages in South Africa yet I only speak Afrikaans and English. If you speak Dutch, you can probably understand Afrikaans.




Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


A boer maak n ’plan


  • A farmer makes a plan.


If there’s any trouble that you’re facing, you’ll find a way to get through it.



What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


If you stay safe and know what you’re doing, it’s a stunning country and very unique. It has a very rich and beautiful culture.


Despite being corrupt, it is a beautiful country to visit.


The safest places to visit would be:


  • Cape Town - you can walk around the centre of Cape Town

  • Boulders Beach - to swim with penguins and other animals like dassies.

  • Kruger National Park - one of the country’s most famous national parks

  • Apartheid Museum


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Nelson Mandela


I’ve seen him in person as his granddaughter went to the same primary school as me. He is very down to earth and absolutely loves South Africa. Ever since he was released from South Africa, his one ambition was to make South Africa a better country. He did so much to turn the country around.


The racism and inequality was rife before he entered power. He didn’t hate white South Africans despite everything he went through. Through his love and hardships, he was able to mend the country. If you want to get a taste of what South Africa was like, please grab a copy of his book Long Walk to Freedom.


Ever since he left office, the country has slid backwards.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Boerewors and pap


It’s the best sausage you’ve ever had. The name means “farmer’s sausage” and comes from a combination of the Afrikaans words boer (‘farmer’) and wors (‘sausage’).


Another dessert that I used to make all the time was melktert. I make this all the time. It does take care to make though as the milk burns easily and it can get lumpy very quickly.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.




Comments


bottom of page