top of page

Cameroon 🇨🇲

Bill, 31


Born in Kumba, Cameroon


Came to Australia in August 2013






















What is your occupation?


I own a Shoebox bookkeeping franchise, which provides tax and bookkeeping services to help small businesses grow. I also work in construction, as a foreman for Pantheon Projects Pty Ltd. Right now, I am working as a foreman from 6am to 2pm Monday to Friday, and working in the evening on my bookkeeping franchise. Depending on how quickly the Shoebox business grows, I might need to leave my construction work.


I am the former vice-president of the Cameroon Community Association, which consists of around 500 members in Sydney. We provide support and information to new Cameroonians and provide language assistance as some do not speak English upon arriving here. We’re like the bridge between Cameroon and Australia.


I studied Banking and Finance at the Siantou University of Business and Technology in Yaounde. I also managed to secure a scholarship at SP Jain School of Global Management in Singapore, where I studied Finance. I did a Diploma of Financial Planning at the Monash Institute and Certificate IV in Bookkeeping and Accounting. I am also going for my CPA, but am unsure when.


Why did you come to Australia?


I came here to finish my studies. As part of my SP Jain degree, I studied 1 year in Singapore, 1 year in Dubai, and 2 years in Sydney. I liked it here so I decided to stay in Sydney. When I arrived in Sydney, I didn’t have any friends or family and the only people I knew were the other people in my degree. We had this little African community, consisting of students from Algeria, Mauritius, Rwanda, Cameroon etc.


What do you like about Sydney?


Sydney reminds me of back home because of the hustle culture. In Cameroon, we need to hustle just to survive. Everyone knows they need to study hard and work hard to make ends meet. When you see people are busy, it gives me motivation. I like how you’re rewarded for your hard work.


In Western Sydney, you can be exposed to a lot of different cultures. By connecting with similar cultures, you build a small like-minded community. I have friends from all over the world here, including Nepal, India, Croatia, Italy etc.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I hate the fact that they’re just building high rises everywhere. Everyone is just being greedy now and we are losing touch about what Sydney used to be. Hustling is fine but being greedy isn’t. For example, my landlord built a granny flat and I’m still paying more rent than before!


The traffic is just terrible. The tolls are going up and you can never get to work on time, even when using highways. I think the public transport system is inefficient, so people feel like they have to use their cars. There are fewer bus stops in my area now, which is probably another cost-saving measure. When I was in Singapore, there were hardly any cars as everyone needs to obtain a Certificate of Entitlement before even being able to purchase a car.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Smile more. Share more empathy.


We are losing a lot of our values in Sydney. When you show empathy and care about your neighbour, that’s what makes you human. That’s what’s important at the end of the day. Too many people are protective and on guard. People are too serious - smile more!


What languages do you speak?


English, French, Pidgin English, Spanish


The first language I learnt is Pidgin English. Cameroonian Pidgin is a combination of English, French and other local dialects.


English and French are the two official languages of Cameroon, reflecting its history as a colony of both the UK and France from 1916 to 1961.


I learnt Spanish by myself, using cassettes. I love the language, and I just wanted to learn it. I am a big FC Barcelona fan, so I learnt the language so I could understand the soccer commentary.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


You be mbut man


Mbut man means someone foolish or easily duped.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Cameroon is not simply a Francophone country. Both English and French have equal status in the country.

The Cameroon football team has qualified for the World Cup 8 times, more than any other African country.


Mount Cameroon is the only active volcano in Western Africa, and the highest point in sub-saharan Western and Central Africa.


Waza National Park is a great place to see wildlife, including giraffes, hyenas and elephants. The parks are amazing and well-maintained.


Lake Nyos was the site of a limnic eruption, which caused the sudden release of around 1.6million tons of CO2. It resulted in the death of thousands, and there are many conspiracy theories about the cause of this disaster.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Samuel Etoó


He is Cameroon’s best ever football player and regarded as one of the best strikers of all time. He is the current president of the Cameroon Football Association.


He grew up in one of the roughest parts of Douala, and represented Cameroon at a very young age, around 16. His upbringing made him tough and mentally strong.



What is the best dish in your native country?


Fufu and eru


Fufu is a slightly sour, boiled and pounded starchy cassava. Eru is an evergreen vine that grows wild in the forests of Central and West Africa. We eat once a month or two months.


Ndole – An aromatic Cameroonian spinach casserole-like dish made of spinach and bitter leaves – flavored with garlic, crayfish and fortified with shrimp and beef. Comfort food at its best.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.



Comentários


bottom of page