top of page

Bulgaria šŸ‡§šŸ‡¬

Roksana, 31


Born in Sofia, Bulgaria


Came to Australia in June 2017 and left in October 2021























What is your occupation?


Iā€™m a medical technician so I conduct blood and PCR tests and take care of the patients. In Sydney, I was doing clinical trials at the Prince of Wales Hospital in Randwick. We tested new drugs before they went onto the market. I have a Bachelor of Healthcare Administration and a Professional Diploma in order to become a medical technician.


In 2019, I enrolled in a college course in Sydney and studied Leadership and Management.


Why did you come to Australia?


In 2016 I was watching TV in Bulgaria when I came across a movie about Australia. It promoted the Australian lifestyle, nature and tourist attractions and my interest piqued after seeing that movie. I started doing some research and came to Australia in 2017 on a student visa. At the time, I spoke very little English and I had no acquaintances in Australia. I guess when you are young, you can afford to take such risks!


What do you like about Sydney?


I met amazing people who were very supportive of me. I am grateful that I was offered a role as a medical technician while I was still studying English at college. Having relocated to London, I already miss the warm smiles and hospitality of Australians, who are always willing to lend a helping hand. Australians are used to interacting with people of different backgrounds and ethnicities and I always felt welcome during my four years there.


Coming from Bulgaria, nature in Australia is so exotic for me. The climate is very hospitable compared to our frigid winters; the lifestyle is just unbeatable in Australia. Something that was unique to me was celebrating Christmas in summer.


What donā€™t you like about Sydney?


The visa process in Australia is very arduous and complicated. You have to stay many years in order to even be eligible for PR (permanent residency). I know friends who have stayed for 5-10 years and have only just received their PR. Because my student visa expired and I wasnā€™t able to apply for PR, I had to leave Australia earlier this year and relocate to London to be with my family. I hope one day to come back to Australia as I still have a lot of travelling that I wish to do and hope to settle permanently someday.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Never change. Be strong. Endure the hardships of the last few years and come out stronger.


I never met a rude Australian during my years there. Maybe I just got lucky but I like to think that itā€™s just the kind-hearted nature of Australians.


What languages do you speak?


English, Bulgarian (native), Macedonian, Serbian


Macedonia and Serbia are two of our neighbours and I learnt a few their languages while I was living in Bulgaria. I was never really exposed to the English language in Bulgaria: everything in medical college was taught in Bulgaria.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Zdravete


This means hello.


Kaka - this means bigger sister. In English, you have to say elder sister but in Bulgarian, itā€™s just one word.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


We have an ancient city called Plovdiv which is the fifth oldest city in the world. Bulgaria is the oldest country in Europe that hasn't changed its name since it was first established. As you can tell, there is a lot of history in our country. Along with Plovdiv, I also recommend that people visit the Black Sea coastline as the beaches are amazing.


The Cyrillic script was invented by two Bulgarians, Saints Naum and Clement, both of Ohrid and both among the disciples of Cyril and Methodius.



Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Hristo Stoichkov


He is widely considered to be the best football player in Bulgaria. He is also considered a legend in Spain as he played for Barcelona for several seasons.


Another famous person is Grigor Dimitrov, Bulgariaā€™s best-ever tennis player.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Shkembe chorba


Shkembe chorba is a tripe soup that is made of calf (cattle) stomach. The tripe is the thick lining of the stomach of cattle. It is cleaned well and cooked with milk, garlic, vinegar, hot chilli peppers, and other spices. This soup is very delicious and quite common across Eastern Europe and the Balkans. Due to the combination of water, fats, salt, and vinegar used in the preparation, which is known to reduce gastrointestinal discomfort associated with hangovers, this soup is very well known as a hangover remedy.


Banitsa


This dish is similar to the Turkish burek. It is a traditional pastry dish prepared by layering a mixture of whisked eggs, natural yoghurt and pieces of white brined cheese between filo pastry and baking it in an oven.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.

Comments


bottom of page