top of page

Eritrea 🇪🇷

Tesfalem, 35


Born in Asmara, Eritrea


Came to Australia in September 2017























Note: The interviewee moved to Melbourne in April 2022


What is your occupation?


I’m an electrician by profession; I do mostly cable installation but was unable to get my electrician licence as I couldn’t finish the course due to family commitments back home.


As a result, I also work part-time as a social worker with refugees and young people, providing with employment opportunities and life skills.


I studied for an Associate Degree in Computer Science in Asmara.


Why did you come to Australia?


I came to Australia for a better life. I was an Eritrean refugee in Uganda and then when I got the Community Proposal Pilot Visa, I grabbed the opportunity with both hands.


The rest of my family is still in Eritrea and it is very hard to bring a family to Australia. I want to one day return to Eritrea as I don’t plan to live in Australia for the rest of my life. It is the best life to live with your community in your country: that is eternal satisfaction. Everyone is happy in Africa with an easy life.


What did you like about Sydney?


The climate is really nice in Sydney. That’s the only thing I liked about Sydney.


What didn’t you like about Sydney?


I lived in Sydney for 4 years. Back when I was in Africa, I was doing well economically as I was managing my own supermarket business. I had to start from scratch in Sydney and it was very hard; I went through a lot of hardships.


A lot of Africans think that the culture in Sydney is made for Asians. I’ve moved to Melbourne since and I genuinely found it more friendly. I’ve faced situations in Sydney as an African guy where some people would choose to not sit next to you on the train.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Please be more friendly.


I didn’t find Sydneysiders very friendly. In Eritrea and other African countries, people say 'good morning' to everyone, including their colleagues, as a sign of respect. In Sydney, my colleagues often didn’t even say hello.


What languages do you speak?


English, Tigrinya, Amharic


Tigrinya is the most widely spoken language in the country with 2,540,000 total native speakers of a population of 5,254,000 in 2006. It is also spoken in Eritrea’s Tigray region. In Eritrea it is a working language in offices along with Arabic. It has 32 letters and is written in the Ge'ez script, originally developed for the now-extinct Ge'ez language.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


አደይ ማዓረይ (ādeyi ma‘areyi)


It literally means “my lovely mother” but people use it when they are very sure of something. This is similar to how people in English say “I swear to god.”


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Eritrea is a very small country of around 5 million people. It was a former Italian colony so there is delicious Italian food here such as lasagne, cappuccino and pasta.


We have a long coast along the Red Sea. There is an important port city called Massawa which was historically important for many centuries. Asmara's main attraction is its World Heritage listed colonial Italian architecture. The palm-lined main street "Harnet Avenue" is colloquially referred to as "Kombishtato" (a creole of the neighbourhood's original name: Campo di Citta). It is full of cafés, bars, shops and old cinemas, and it makes for a nice mile long stroll.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Yohannes Tiquabo


He is an Eritrean singer-songwriter.


Once an advocate of the national government, Yohannes emigrated from Eritrea in October 2013, while on a tour in the United States sponsored by the People's Front for Democracy and Justice, Eritrea's ruling party. A song he subsequently released on YouTube, "Hadnetna" denouncing the ruling party, has since gone viral. He is the sound of the Eritrean people. He sings about love, friendship and everything else that makes people happy.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Shiro


Shiro is a simple, silky ground chickpea stew that takes little time and effort to bring together. In Eritrea it is a vital source of protein and flavour.


Zigini


Zigini is a spicy stew prepared with berbere spices and beef or lamb cubes. It is often served with injera, a flatbread cooked on a griddle or a stone. It is often considered the national dish of Eritrea.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.

Comentarios


bottom of page