top of page

Germany đŸ‡©đŸ‡Ș

Rubi, 24


Born in Kaiserslautern, Germany


Came to Australia in March 2020






















What is your occupation?


I work as an IT Programming Manager at Natuvion, an IT consulting company. I started 3 œ years ago at the company in Germany.


I actually dropped out of my Bachelor of Science undergraduate degree at Hasso-Plattner-Institut to pursue a career as I figured I was wasting time at university, whereas I could already be earning money full-time.


Why did you come to Australia?


I originally wanted to quit my job and build my own company from scratch. However, I was asked to come to Australia to help out their Australia and New Zealand subsidiary.


The CEO of the Australia and New Zealand subsidiary started last year in April 2019 and he was running it single-handedly for almost a year, building connections, before I was asked to help out and build brand awareness.


What do you like about Sydney?


Living in the Northern Beaches is amazing as it doesn’t even take me 10 minutes to get to the coast. I often wake up before sunrise and take the opportunity to go to Palm Beach or Dee Why Beach to enjoy the ocean views; I have even seen dolphins there!


I live a more outdoors lifestyle in Sydney compared to back home in Berlin. Back home, I would either be at work or be at bars. There’s so much nature here so you feel inclined to spend time outside, even though I am a workaholic.


The people are very open-minded and friendly even though I’ve heard that people from the Northern Beaches are supposedly snobbish! I’ve gotten compliments before from strangers; this would be very strange in Germany as people generally keep to themselves.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


This is very specific. Back home in Germany, I would eat quark (a dairy product similar to yoghurt) with frozen fruits, protein powder and almonds every morning but it’s impossible to find it here, even in Aldi. I miss it a lot.


On a similar note, I find eating healthily to be quite expensive in Sydney compared to Berlin. It doesn’t seem right that I can buy a Domino’s pizza for $5 but I have to fork out so much to make a healthy shake.


Public transport is not reliable at all here. Despite all the stereotypes about German punctuality, we actually complain about it but it’s still much better than Sydney’s.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Maintain your social distancing. People should stop acting like it’s already over. As long as there’s no vaccine, we’re not yet over this crisis.


Stay safe and support the local businesses. I myself am going to local cafes and restaurants every day to do my little bit.


What languages do you speak?


English, German


I learnt French from my Canadian father and we lived in Montreal for a few years. We only communicated in French but when my parents separated, my mother and I returned to Germany and I subsequently lost all my French.


I learnt Russian in school but since I haven’t used it much, I’ve lost that as well.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Nicht lang schnacken, Kopp in Nacken


Don't talk so long, [but get the back of] your head to your nape.


This is a Northern German toast for drinking shots or pre-drinks with your peers. You wouldn’t really use this with your parents.


Mind you, I thought Germans drank a lot until I came here.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Everyone who’s an art and music connoisseur should visit Berlin, even consider living here. We have a thriving arts scene and our techno is world-famous. I can’t say anything about Berghain as I’ve never been there but I highly recommend the KitKatClub - it’s wild.


Check out the FKK areas where you can bathe completely naked. This is totally normal in Germany. In most saunas, you aren’t even allowed to wear any clothing.


Berlin is a huge and welcoming city, there’s a place for everyone and no one will judge you. This is a contrast to Germany’s smaller towns and villages, which are a lot more conservative and almost “stuck in time.”


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


I would say Heidi Klum is one of the most famous Germans. In Germany, she runs the TV show Germany’s Next Top Model but to be honest I am not the biggest fan since it ruins younger girls’ perceptions of what women should look like.


Probably Angela Merkel. She’s been our chancellor since 2005 and is the most powerful woman in the world. She’s shaped our country for the better and I’m thankful for her contributions.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Kebab.


Döner, as we call them, are all the rage in Germany, especially Berlin. If you eat it in other cities outside of Berlin, it’s not as good. Turkish guest workers popularised it in the early 1970s and it is one of the top street foods in all of Europe, if not the world.


The best one is probably at Keb’up House. You can’t eat inside but it’s so divine. Mustafa’s is more famous but I reckon it’s just a tourist magnet. Don’t get me wrong: it’s not bad but Keb’up is better.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.

コメント


bottom of page