top of page

Latvia đŸ‡±đŸ‡»

Rebeka, 22


Born in Riga, Latvia


Came to Australia in December 2017























What is your occupation?


I am a recent Bachelor of International Relations graduate from the University of Sydney and am currently in the process of creating an NGO called Latvian Youth in Foreign Affairs. I intend to further pursue my studies in Europe in International Security and Defence and will be moving in September this year.


In the future, I want to be involved in conflict resolution and peacekeeping missions around the world.


Why did you come to Australia?


I primarily came here to pursue my studies; I had the choice of studying in either the UK or Australia but I wanted to travel as far away from Latvia as possible in order to explore the rest of the world, so I set my sights on Australia.


I worked as a bartender in Riga in order to save up enough money to travel to Thailand, where my Thai aunt lived. From there, I moved to Sydney, knowing that I’ll be moving here permanently. Sydney had the most appealing climate and way of life compared to other Australian cities; I’m grateful every day that I’m living here.


What do you like about Sydney?


I cannot believe how friendly Sydneysiders are. In Latvia and other Eastern European countries, people are very closed off and it’d be unthinkable to just strike up a conversation with your neighbour like people do here in Australia: the cultures are completely different.

One of the biggest culture shocks when I first arrived here was when cashier clerks would spontaneously ask me how I was doing.


The peaceful coexistence of different cultures in Sydney is something that is breathtaking. There was one instance where I noticed that an Indian, a Chinese, a Middle-Eastern person and an Aboriginal and myself, a Latvian, were sitting side by side on the train. With all the ethnic and religious divisions currently going on in the world, it’s great to see.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I wish Sydney had a historical city square like most European cities; this is something I definitely miss about Latvia. In Riga, Vecrīga is the old town where you can sit amongst historical buildings and sit at bars with your friends and watch the world go by.


I feel like a lot of Australians live in a superficial “bubble’ of sorts where they know they’re well-off and lucky compared to most of the world, but aren’t proactive or willing enough to actually take initiative and seek to help others. It’s too easy to rest on your laurels whilst living here - those are my observations.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


My one hope for Australia is that Sydneysiders and all Australians maintain a cosmopolitan, accepting attitude of all cultures, nationalities and ethnicities. In an age when disinformation and “filter bubbles” have become the reality, go out and keep meeting your neighbours; always seek to expand your circle.


When you go and travel, actually seek to understand and explore the local culture, history and traditions, rather than just seeking a beach holiday.


What languages do you speak?


Latvian, English, Russian and French


Latvian is my native tongue. English comes very close to being my second native language, as I completed my high-school education in the language.


I used to watch Russian cartoons and grasp various phrases and words from random people I met along the way. 30% of the Latvian population are Russian-speakers, so most Latvians can understand some Russian, with the older population being fluent in Russian.


I also speak French, which I began in year 6 and did at an advanced level at my University. I have even read French books by writers like Albert Camus and Sartre.


Recently, I began studying Mandarin, however, it is very challenging and I predict it will take me many years to master.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


“Zobs”


When I first met my current Australian partner, he asked me this exact question. I answered with various words that first popped into my head. “Zobs” was one of them, and the only one that he remembered. He started calling me zobs, only to find out that it means “tooth”. It remains my nickname to this day. When I took him to Latvia to meet my family, we got many awkward stares every time he called me out “zooobs” in public.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


It is a small and undiscovered gem of a country that has an immense culture to learn about and witness. It is one of the greenest nations in Europe; almost half of the country is covered by forest.


If you go, make sure to go to the Latvian Singing and Dancing Festival, where more than 500 thousand people sing together as one big choir at MeĆŸaparks.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Kristaps Porzingis, an NBA player who plays for the Dallas Mavericks.


Latvians are very tall on average; Latvian women are the tallest in the world. I would, however, like to give credit to who really should be the most famous Latvian person- Vaira Vike Freiberga. She was the first female president of any former Soviet bloc country. She rose from being a refugee to fighting for Latvian development in the post-Soviet period.


What is the best dish in your native country?


My favourite would have to be pīrāgi, which is Latvian bacon buns. Another dish I really enjoy is rasols, which is a potato salad with peas, mayonnaise, egg and cucumber.


I make these every Christmas.


In Latvia, the three main ingredients for every dish are dill, potatoes and sour cream. We can subsist on that.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.




Comments


bottom of page