top of page

Lesotho 🇱🇸

Stevy, 25


Born in Maseru, Lesotho


Came to Australia in February 2016























How did we meet?


I was paired up with Stevy as part of my university's Meet-a-Mate Alumni Mentor Program.


What is your occupation?


I studied a Bachelor of Commerce/Economics and Curtin University and Masters of Finance at UNSW. I am currently pursuing job opportunities in trading.


Why did you come to Australia?


Originally, my parents wanted me to study Engineering. I subsequently applied to Curtin University, UNSW and a German university and got accepted into Curtin; all of these schools were in the top 5 in the world for Mining Engineering.


However, after one semester, I realised it wasn’t for me. I also studied International Relations briefly before deciding on Commerce/Economics after speaking to a few career advisers.


What do you like about Sydney?


The people are so nice here. You can meet people from all walks of life, from different cultures. This is reflected in the food culture where you can try any cuisine here.


I haven’t experienced anything overtly racist so far during my time in Sydney; I’ve experienced microaggressions like people purposely avoiding walking near me


This is certainly not the case in Lesotho. Keep in mind, my country is very small but the only “foreign” cuisines would be Indian or Chinese.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I’m not a fan of Sydney’s nightlife. Bars and clubs close ridiculously early here even compared to other cities like Perth. In Perth, the nightlife is concentrated in one area called Northbridge whereas, in Sydney, it’s a bit all over the place with different suburbs having their own events.


I cannot ignore how expensive Sydney is. If you live and work in Sydney, i think it’s manageable but for someone like me who’s getting into the workforce, the cost of living is definitely difficult to deal with.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Appreciate the multicultural environment that you are living in.


What languages do you speak?


English, Sesotho (native)


Sesotho is very similar to a language in Botswana called Tswana. They’re both parts of a group of closely-related Bantu languages spoken in Southern Africa. These languages are much more similar to each other than say, Spanish and Portuguese.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Bophelo bo monate.


It means “life is good.”


Khomo tseo Morena! Le manemane a tsona!


It used to be a greeting that people would use when greeting superiors like the King (the word for king is Morena). Nowadays, people just use this expression to greet anyone, “Khomo tseo!”


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Although it’s a small country, Lesotho has superb scenery, with mountains and waterfalls like Maletsunyane Waterfalls.


It’s also known as the “Kingdom of the Sky” because it’s the only country that is entirely located above 1000m above sea level.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Letsie III


He’s been the King of Lesotho since 1996 and definitely the most famous person in the country. I’m against the monarchy because I feel like one’s bloodline shouldn’t be the sole determinant in becoming the ruler of an entire nation. I believe it’s a very outdated concept.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Braai


It’s South African barbecue. We even hold an annual Braai Festival at the Maletsunyane waterfall I mentioned earlier. Because my city Maseru is so close to the Free State Province of South Africa, you really cannot tell if someone is from Lesotho or from South Africa judging by the way they speak or act. We pretty much are the same people.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.



Comments


bottom of page