top of page

Madagascar 🇲🇬

Pascal, 35


Born in Nairobi, Kenya


Came to Australia in January 2017
























What is your occupation?


I’m a Customer Success Support Engineer currently working for Atlassian. I would like to work in this position for the next 2-3 years; there is a lot of scope to move internally at Atlassian.


I studied my Bachelors at Aux Lazaristes La Salle in Lyon, a Masters of Electrical Engineering in Université Grenoble Alpes. I also studied at the KTH Royal Institute of Technology as part of my Masters degree.


Why did you come to Australia?


After finishing my Masters thesis at the French Space Agency in Toulouse, France, I worked for Thales Group, a French multinational company that designs, develops and manufactures electrical systems. I didn’t like the job and I ended up taking a year-long break in 2013, which resulted in a working holiday visa to Australia. I explored the Kimberley region of WA while working on a crocodile park. I felt like I had developed a connection to the land. One of the highlights of the trip was the Gibb River Road and seeing baobabs in Australia, a tree that is synonymous with Madagascar.


I went back to France and searched for companies that could sponsor my move to Australia. Esker Worldwide. I worked for them for 3 years in France, and then eventually moved to their Sydney office. Mission accomplished!


What do you like about Sydney?


Sydney’s best quality is its outdoors lifestyle. As I currently live in Bronte in the eastern suburbs, the beach is so close to me and the quality of life is excellent. I felt so stressed in Paris but here I feel so relaxed. The work-life balance is excellent in Australia and people take great pride in it.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


Sydney is very image-oriented, and it is becoming quite consumerist and capitalist. Whenever I see homeless people around the city, I feel like we can improve. It is part of the society we live in but deep inside me, I feel a bit disconnected. I am disappointed that there are no Madagascan restaurants in Sydney! I hope someday a restaurant can open!


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Be more mindful of others around you.


When I went to Melbourne, we were looking for directions and locals stopped and asked us if we needed help. I’ve lived in Sydney for 6 years and this is something that doesn’t happen here!


What languages do you speak?


French, English, Malagasy


I can have a basic conversation in Malagasy; my mum taught me it but I don’t have much of an opportunity to speak it these days.


In France, we have to study another foreign language (besides English) and so I studied German for 10 years. I did a high school language exchange program where I lived in Germany for 2 weeks.


I had to do some Swedish courses as part of my masters at KTH.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Manao ahoana


This means hello in Malagasy.


Veloma


This means goodbye in Malagasy.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Madagascar is nothing like the movie. We don’t have lions, zebras, hippos or penguins.


Madagascar, the world's oldest island, broke off from Africa and India and has been on its own for more than 70 million years. 80% of the fauna and flora here can be found nowhere else on Earth.


Something interesting is that there is a connection between Madagascar and Indonesia, as it was originally colonised by Indonesians. The staple food is rice and we eat it 3 times a day!


Madagascar is one of the poorest countries in the world. According to the World Bank, 75% of people in Madagascar are estimated to be living on less than $1.90 per day as of 2019. One of my goals is to build a school in my hometown in Madagascar.


There is a high potential for tourism in Madagascar, but it is underdeveloped currently.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Mahaleo


Mahaleo is a folk-pop band from Madagascar that is widely viewed as the most popular Malagasy group of all time. If you ever meet a Malagasy, they will know about Mahaleo. They are that famous.


Music is a huge part of Malagasy culture. People enjoy singing and dancing. Mahaleo has been active for more than 40 years. They also have an underlying political message in their music.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Ravitoto


Nationwide, this traditional dish is made by boiling pounded cassava leaves, oil, and meat over a charcoal fire, and served (like everything in Madagascar) alongside a heaping bowl of rice. There are some regional variations—beef replaces pork in more Muslim-dominated regions, coconut milk is added in coastal areas, and occasionally peanuts are included.


I haven’t had this dish for a long time, but I’m obsessed about it.



Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.



Comments


bottom of page