top of page

Moldova 🇲🇩

Dimitri, 33


Born in Chisinau, Moldova


Came to Australia in February 2020


























What is your occupation?


At the moment during lockdown, I am doing deliveries for a company called Aramex. Most of the products I deliver include wine and Amazon products.


In Germany, I was working as a sales engineer for an American company called SPX. Before the latest lockdown in Sydney, I worked various jobs such as a dance teacher, photographer and removalist.


I moved to Germany with my parents when I was 13 and studied mechanical engineering at the University of Duisburg-Essen.


Why did you come to Australia?


I attended an event called “Worldtrip” in my hometown in Germany and the first location mentioned was Australia. The host, Nick Martin, mentioned how he backpacked around Australia for six years. This really inspired me and in 2020, I decided to immigrate here and experience Australia for myself.


What do you like about Sydney?


I like how the city is surrounded by nature; it feels like an urban jungle. I enjoy surfing and swimming at Bronte Beach and have been to the Blue Mountains, a mere stone’s throw away from Sydney.


I also like how Sydney has great weather all year round. Even now in winter, it’s generally sunny and the climate as a whole is much less extreme than in Moldova or Germany.


Another thing I like about Sydney is the vibes. You get to meet interesting people from all over the world and visit some of the most iconic landmarks of the world, such as the Opera House and Harbour Bridge.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


The Australian fashion scene is underdeveloped. Australians aren’t very superficial about other’s dress; as a person, I agree with that but as a fashion photographer, it pains me as Australians don’t prioritise fashion as a big expense or way of life. It has influenced me too as I used to spend quite a bit on clothes but now I hardly buy any new clothes.


There is no distinct ‘Australian’ culture as the country is very young. Related to this, there is a general lack of cultural events, such as locally-made films, operas and musicals. Back in Moldova, you would frequently have wine and music events.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Appreciate the value of your community. I love seeing it when people help others out, especially those who are less fortunate in life. This shows the kind and egalitarian spirit of Australians.


What languages do you speak?


English, German, Moldovan, Russian, French


Russian is my mother language and a significant number of Moldovans can speak Russian. I learnt French and German while in Germany.


Moldovan is essentially a dialect of Romanian; there are just a few slight vocabulary differences.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


La multi ani


It means Happy Birthday or Happy New Year in Romanian.


Traditionally, the birthday person is the one who brings food and cake to the office, the opposite of Western countries like Australia.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Moldova is an incredibly underrated country. It is the least touristy country in Europe so you won’t have to worry about hordes of crowds blocking your views of Orhieul Vechi, arguably Moldova’s most famous attraction.


Moldova has very underrated chocolate; one famous brand is Bucuria. You cannot visit Moldova without sampling the wines. It is one of the largest wine producers in the world and one winery I recommend is Cricova, located 15km north of the capital Chisinau. It is the second-largest wine cellar in the country after ​​Milestii Mici, the largest wine cellar in the world according to Guinness World Records.


Our national dance is called Hora din Moldova and it is usually performed at weddings and festivals. All the associated costumes are handmade.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


O-Zone


They were a Moldovan Eurodance group that was active in the early 2000s. Their most famous song is Dragostea Din Tei, which topped the charts in several countries, including France, Germany and Austria. They reunited for a few concerts in 2017 and 2019.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Mamaliga


It is a porridge made of yellow maize flour. Normally you have it for lunch or dinner.

Other great traditional dishes include ciorba, a Romanian meatball soup and mititei, which are grilled sausages.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.




コメント


bottom of page