top of page

Namibia 🇳🇦

Oli, 23


Born in Sydney, Australia but was raised in Windhoek, Namibia


Came to Australia in June 2016

























What is your occupation?


I’m a Customer Experience Analyst at Westpac. I’m trying to get into User Experience (UX) design work in the future so this contract is a great first step.


I studied a Bachelor of Design Computing at the University of Sydney. Before Westpac, I worked at Bunnings’ for 2 ½ years at both the Thornleigh and Rose Bay Bunnings. It was a big cultural “slap in the face” for me as I learnt how to deal with Australians and their way of saying things.


I never felt like I was 100% Australian or 100% Namibian but working at a quintessentially Australian place helped shape me to become the person I am today, an Australian with my own quirky characteristics.


Why did you come to Australia?


I always felt like I had a home back in Australia: the fact that I had an Australian passport and citizenship made my return much smoother. Australia’s way of life and abundant nature including the beaches seemed enchanting to me; it was a first-world English-speaking country with an amazing climate.


The reason I came back after graduating from high school was that I felt like I was mature enough to move back to Australia. Moreover, I also had very close high school friends whom I didn’t want to leave yet.


My mother, who is Australian and was born and raised here, came back here first in 2014 with my siblings after separating from my Namibian father. This meant that when I came back, there were no hiccups at all as I already had a home and family to return to.


What do you like about Sydney?


It’s multicultural so it helps me sympathise with a lot of people; they also have similar migrant experiences adapting to a different culture, language and way of life. Australia is also remote compared to the rest of the world, so it’d have been a [insert word] move.


Having the opportunity to explore national parks, waterfalls, beaches in our own backyard is amazing and makes me feel comfortable. It’s not like a concrete jungle at all. In Namibia, I used to live in the suburbs of Windhoek where I could access safaris within a kilometre or two, the kind of things you would see on Google Images.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


Sydney felt a bit too cliquey for my liking; everyone was in their own little bubbles and I initially struggled to make friends. Personally, the best decision was moving to the CBD as a lot of expats and other immigrants live here - it was the ideal change of scenery as I felt like I was more comfortable in my own skin.


When I first moved back, I was very disappointed about Sydney’s lacklustre nightlife scene - it left a lot to be desired especially considering I’d experienced the nightlife in various European cities like Munich. There also doesn’t seem to be many incentives for late-night businesses to thrive here; I guess it is slightly changing under Gladys but it will take a very long time to actually see progress. Mind you, Windhoek does have a few reputable nightclubs but it’s certainly not going to compare to a city like Berlin.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Thank you the people of Sydney, especially those who live in the CBD, for helping make me grow as a person and fostering these tight-knit bonds. You have filled me with confidence that I can help fit in Australian society and don’t have to conform to any mould.


Namibia is a stunning country but they’re doing it tough at the moment with COVID-19, especially considering its tourism-dependent economy. When we’re allowed to travel again, please do not overlook Namibia as it has so much to offer. If you’re after a multicultural country with mind-blowing scenery (sand dunes etc.), visit Namibia!


What languages do you speak?


English, German, Afrikaans


In Namibia, I went to a bilingual German school called Deutsche Höhere Privatschule where

The way they disciplined children for misbehaving was very old-fashioned - it was akin to verbal abuse. I underperformed at this school so my mum eventually moved me to Windhoek International School.


Although I can understand it perfectly, my Afrikaans is quite basic. As there weren’t any Afrikaans classes at my International School, I learnt it informally through casual conversations with locals.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


I will do that now-now.


The meaning of this means: “I’ll do it in a minute.”

This is an example of Namlish, a form of English spoken in Namibia. As English is often the 2nd or 3rd language for most Namibians, we sometimes incorporate words from Afrikaans and German when speaking English.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Namibia is a fascinating country given its history and cultural makeup. For example, we have had influences from Germany, Britain and South Africa due to the various colonial periods and we have around 10 ethnic groups and we even celebrate our own Oktoberfest and Carnival, where we amalgamate German traditions with distinct Namibian flair.


There’s nothing more Namibian than travelling from Windhoek to Swakopmund, a coastal city, and retreating to a holiday house during any public holiday. Swakopmund is even known as ‘Little Bavaria’ due to its quaint architecture and Germanic influences. Swakopmund is situated very close to the Namibian sand dunes, world-famous for being one of the only places where the desert meets the ocean.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Behati Prinsloo


She’s a Namibian model who used to be Victoria’s Secret model and is also married to Adam Levine, the Maroon 5 frontman.


There’s also a Namibian music artist called EEs who won the 4th season of X-Factor Germany along with the Yes-Ja Band. Germans are fascinated with Namibians - Africans that can speak their native tongue! I personally don’t listen to his music as I find it too stereotypically Namibian - he includes a lot of Namlish in his music.


An honourable mention goes to Michelle McClean who was named Miss Universe 1992.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Kapana is raw beef grilled on an open fire - I guess it’s the McDonald’s of Namibia; it’s cheap, easy to make and really tasty. Namibians love meat, especially game meat like springbok and kudu (antelope).


It’s most popular in Katatura and you’ll have to travel there to get the best stuff.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.




Comments


bottom of page