top of page

Netherlands šŸ‡³šŸ‡±

Estelle, 21


Born in Eindhoven, Netherlands


Came to Australia in January 2020























What is your occupation?


I am now working as a Marketing & Sales Assistant for GTI Tourism and soon will be working as an Administration Officer for Hibbs & Associates.


Why did you come to Australia?


Basically, I am doing an internship as part of my Bachelors of International Business & Management at Fontys University of Applied Sciences. I chose Australia because I know itā€™s very internationally oriented, welcoming and multicultural, just like the Netherlands.


My parents were very concerned about me coming to Australia because I came during the previous bushfire season. Now they are more understanding of my desire to stay here.


What do you like about Sydney?


On my first day here, I was taking photos on George Street and a local complimented my pictures and asked if I needed any sightseeing tips.

People are open-minded, warm and engaging here so I immediately felt at home here.


The city is so buzzing compared to my hometown, Eindhoven, in the Netherlands. Thereā€™s always something to do here or something you havenā€™t explored yet. Iā€™m excited to visit the Blue Mountains next weekend for the first time- itā€™s been on my bucket list forever.


What donā€™t you like about Sydney?


I donā€™t want to sound negative, but the homeless or intoxicated people at times scare me. Iā€™m a very empathetic person so I feel bad that I canā€™t help them all.


So far thatā€™s all I have to say- I donā€™t have much to complain about here. I just feel blessed and privileged to be able to live here.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Thank you for welcoming me and making me feel at home from the moment I came here.


What languages do you speak?


English, Dutch (native), Hungarian (native), French, German


I speak a little bit of Romanian, Bulgarian and Spanish.

I always try to learn a bit about the cultures and languages of my foreign friends. I always knew I wanted to live overseas so this is why I was eager to learn so many.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Houdoe


It just means ā€œbyeā€ and is very characteristic of the southern part of the Netherlands. If you say this in Amsterdam for example, people will look at you weirdly. Itā€™s the go-to phrase for foreigners who pretend they know Dutch. They will just speak English the entire time, and suddenly say ā€œHoudoeā€ to say goodbye.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


Everyone is welcome there, regardless of your background or reason for coming. We were one of the first countries in history to have freedom of speech so this is why a lot of entrepreneurs and writers who had out of the ordinary thoughts settled here. I guess this is why we are such a progressive and innovative country.


Even though I am not that tall, itā€™s true that Dutch people are very tall.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Vincent Van Gogh.


He was a painter who was ahead of his time. His way of painting was extraordinary and different which is why he was so appreciated. He was very much at home in the Netherlands, in terms of thinking outside the box.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Poffertjes


These are small and fluffy pancakes and I miss them so much. The best toppings are powdered sugar and strawberries or apple stroop. It is the best sweet treat. I canā€™t find it anywhere here.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.


ŠšŠ¾Š¼Š¼ŠµŠ½Ń‚Š°Ń€ŠøŠø


bottom of page