top of page

New Zealand 🇳🇿

Tui, 27


Born in Auckland, New Zealand


Came to Australia in September 2011























How did we meet?


Tui and I met while I was working at NAB. He was that gun banker that had the most amazing stats and could answer everyone's enquiries within a minute or two.


What is your occupation?


I am a Business Associate at Ubank. I do general coaching and risk management with fellow advisers. I used to work as a Servicing Banker at National Australia Bank.


Why did you come to Australia?


Personally, I chose to move here at the age of 18 as I wanted to start a new life.


When I moved here, I only knew my father’s best friend and his family, and from there, I expanded my social circle. My siblings emigrated to Australia after me whereas my parents stayed in New Zealand.


What do you like about Sydney?


The lifestyle is great here. I like how it’s fast-paced as it suits me. I love how my friends and siblings all live here and it’s relatively easy to visit my parents who are in New Zealand.


The diversity of Sydney’s food culture is unique and exceptional; there is so much good Asian food in Cabramatta for example!


What don’t you like about Sydney?


Everything is really spread out in Sydney because of the urban sprawl. For example, the city is an hour away and Parramatta is half an hour away from where I live in the Ponds.


It’s very expensive to maintain a decent lifestyle here. For example, property prices are so high.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


I love Sydney and you should all be grateful to call this lovely city home.


What languages do you speak?


English


My grandma taught me Maori when I was younger but I only know basic phrases here and there. My father is Scottish so I never had the chance to use it with my parents.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Kei te pehia koe?


It means “How are you?” in Maori. Generally, someone would reply with kei te pai.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


It’s an amazing country, full of nature like mountains, lakes and greenery. Some examples are Lake Tekapo, Milford Sound and Roy's Peak.


It is true that there are more sheep than people, though I don’t really like that fact.


Our Prime Minister is better than Australia’s; at least ours doesn’t go on holiday during a crisis.


On that note, don’t try to claim Lorde, Australia. She’s rightfully ours.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Peter Jackson.


He’s the director, producer and screenwriter of the Lord of the Rings trilogy. I’m saying this despite not liking the series myself. At least it got to showcase our country’s natural scenery since it was shot there.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Hangi


It’s a traditional New Zealand Maori method of cooking food using heated rocks buried in a pit oven underground. I try to eat it as often as I can when I go back to NZ.


The fish and chips, doughnuts (with fresh cream), steak and cheese pies are the best. I would recommend Toby’s fish and chips in Auckland.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.



Comments


bottom of page