top of page

Norway 🇳🇴

Tina, 27


Born in Haugesund, Norway


Came to Australia in January 2016























What is your occupation?


I work as a behaviour support practitioner for ORS. My job involves working to reduce or eliminate difficult behaviour and implement the best approach for children and adults living with disabilities who display behaviours of concern.


I studied a Bachelor of Arts and Social Science, majoring in Sociology and Anthropology at UNSW. I have seven years of work experience as a community support worker both in Norway and here in Sydney.


Why did you come to Australia?


The first time I came to Australia was for three months in 2013 on a sports management course at ICMS Manly. I fell in love with the country during this time.


I studied sign language at the University of Bergen for one year. I was bored with the course we were studying and so after we completed it, I ended up moving to Australia with three other friends to start a new life.


My father, who is Scottish, currently resides there but still harbours a desire to one day move to Australia as he really loves the country.


What do you like about Sydney?


I love the energetic pulse of Sydney. There’s a lot that’s going on around the city, from festivals to music performances etc. Back in Haugesund, I would go out once a month because it rains for most of the year. During the year, the biggest events are a jazz festival and film festival in the summer, and a small Christmas market. Contrastingly, here in Sydney, I’m always outside getting coffee and often having lunch with friends.


There are a lot of career opportunities in my chosen field. My job as a behaviour support practitioner wouldn’t even exist back in Norway. As far as I’m aware, the reason is that the roles in Norway tend to be more general in nature. I tried searching for roles a few weeks ago as I intend to go back to visit family.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


Because of Sydney’s high cost of living, many of the friends I’ve met have ended up leaving Sydney for other parts of Australia, like Queensland and Perth. As a result, I find it hard to make friends as people come and go.


The traffic is also horrendous. I commute for two hours every day and I have to travel quite far to meet clients who may be in Manly or Blacktown. Back home in Haugesund, people would complain if they had to sit through traffic for 15 minutes.


The maternal leave they provide in Australia is inadequate in my opinion. Back in Norway, mothers would get 12 months of paid leave whereas my employer gives me 1 week of paid leave after working for them for nearly 3 years.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Norway is a great place to live if you want free education, healthcare and parental leave. I know in Australia you still need to pay for certain operations but in Norway, it’s all free.


What languages do you speak?


Norwegian (native), English


I can understand Swedish, Danish, Icelandic to a certain extent. I feel like a lot of Norwegians are afraid to speak English but as soon as they’ve had a few drinks, they become fluent. I guess that they just underestimate their own English abilities.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Alt for Norge


All for Norway


It is the royal motto of Norway and is more commonly associated with the famous US reality TV show, which features Norwegian Americans participating in challenges relating to Norwegian history and culture, competing to win a reunion with their distant Norwegian relatives.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


When it is sunny, it is one of the most beautiful countries on the planet. There are so many mountains, fjords and other landscapes that are just waiting to be discovered. My personal recommendations are Årdal and Preikestolen.


We have excellent hot dogs and soft-serve ice cream. Hennig-Olsen is a very famous brand of ice cream and it is so good. The soft serve here in Australia cannot compare. I think the reason is that we use a different type of milk/cream.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Harald V


He is the King of Norway and is known locally as “Kong Harald.” In magazines, there are pages of excerpts dedicated to the royal family, similar to how Western tabloids cover the British royal family.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Pinnekjøtt


It is a dish based on lamb ribs. Typically, we eat this for Christmas and add turnip, potatoes and butter. You normally wash it down with beer or akevitt, which is a Scandinavian spirit.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.




댓글


bottom of page