top of page

Samoa 🇼🇸

Liyah, 23


Born in Wellington. New Zealand and heritage is from Faleasi’u Uta & Sapunaoa, Samoa


Came to Australia in February 2016






















How did we meet?


Liyah was a colleague of mine back when I worked at NAB in Servicing.


What is your occupation?


I am a Customer Service Advisor at National Australia Bank.


Why did you come to Australia?


Initially, I didn’t want to but my whole family moved here. They just wanted a bit of a change from Wellington, New Zealand and there weren’t that many job opportunities over there.


What do you like about Sydney?


For me, back in New Zealand, my parents would take care of everything for me but since moving to Sydney, I have been exposed to many great opportunities. Living in such a fast-paced environment has allowed me to gain a lot of independence and through that, I have met many beautiful people of all different races and religions. I know if I hadn’t come here, I wouldn’t have met my friends at NAB, Mount Druitt Rugby League team and most importantly my family here in Sydney.

Sydney is not Sydney without Korean BBQ. There are like only 2 Kbbq restaurants (that I know of) in all of Wellington but here it’s everywhere and it’s good too! I’m not one to try new food cos I’m quite picky but I swear I’ve fallen in love!


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I don’t like the muggy weather in the summer.


Being in New Zealand, you can experience nature at your doorstep but nature is less accessible in Sydney. Back home, I could drive 10 minutes and be at a river or at a beach. Compared to here, I swear it takes 10 times longer.


ALSO!!! The fish and chips aren’t as good in Australia, neither are the meat pies. The produce is better in New Zealand (period)!


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Stay home and Save Lives!


What languages do you speak?


English, Samoan (native)


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


Aiga - Meaning family.


I don’t say it lightly when I say every fibre in my body has had an impartation of my family that has come before me. There’s a saying that goes “it takes a village to raise a child”. I can honestly say without my family, I wouldn’t be who I am. My grandparents at a young age taught me respect. Respecting my elders, respecting my home and respecting myself too. This comes in the form of how I conduct myself daily, in how I speak and how I act. Being respectful was humbling myself, giving with no intent to receive and to empower, uplift and be a role model for those younger than me - these lessons have shaped me and made me who I am today.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


We’re so much more than only being good for something stereotypical like rugby or being BIG or climbing up and down coconut trees. We, as Samoans, have a rich culture, stand strong in faith and are mostly family-oriented.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


There are so many Samoan household names who I could mention. It would be unfair to say one is more famous than the other because we are equally as proud of them and how proud they also are of being Samoan too.


To name a few, In the entertainment industry, there is Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson, Tofiga Fepulea’i and Tusi Tamasese. In the music industry, we have Savage, J Emz and Aaradhna. In the sports industry, we have David Tua, Jerry Collins, Maria Tutaia and need I say more? To all of our Samoan people who have a platform, I salute you!


What is the best dish in your native country?


Asking me what the best Samoan dish is, is like asking a kid what they want for Christmas. So many things to choose from, I wouldn’t be able to give ONE answer. There is Oka (raw fish), Sapasui (chop suey), Luau (taro leaves), Koko Alaisa (Cocoa Rice) and honestly, the list goes on!


One of my favourites is Kopai which is a sweet Samoan dessert dumpling. My granddad used to make it for us when we were younger. We don’t eat it often but it’s like the biggest comfort food. It’s round pieces of dough cooked in Samoan koko (Cocoa).


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.


Comments


bottom of page