top of page

Sierra Leone 🇸🇱

Annette, 25


Born in Freetown, Sierra Leone


Came to Australia in May 2000
























What is your occupation?


I’m a government lawyer and what I do is strictly confidential so I will not be disclosing any information about it. In the future, I would like to work at a not-for-profit organisation. The reason why I studied Law in the first place was that I wanted to help clients in the legal sector. I previously worked at private practices and I didn’t like it, which is why I switched to my current government lawyer position.


I studied a Bachelor of Law and Social Science at Western Sydney University, majoring in Peace & Development Studies.


Why did you come to Australia?


My family and I came to Australia as refugees; we were fleeing the Sierra Leonean civil war so we were granted humanitarian visas. Basically, everyone who was fleeing eventually ended up being resettled in either America or Australia.


I don’t remember any of it as I was around 3 and a half years old; I have never been back to the country although I do have 2 aunts there.


What do you like about Sydney?


I like how there’s such a vibrant mix of cultures; there are different kinds of clothing shops, restaurants, and cultural events. If I’m feeling like Australian food, Thai food, Chinese food or African food, the options are all there.


It’s a very beautiful city. I frequently go to the Central Coast and Wollongong on road trips and the nature is just stunning.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


I don’t like the cost of living. Everything is expensive compared to other states even in Australia. It’s definitely the most unaffordable city in this country and I’ve even considered moving to Melbourne.


I feel like Sydney is very much a rat race. Seeing the pressures of what some people in the legal industry go through in order to succeed is just crazy. The idealistic expectations are not realistic and I’ve heard of several horror stories involving employee burnout.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


It’s okay to do things at your own pace. There’s no timeline for success as everyone has different life experiences and priorities. As long as you get where you want to be in life, that’s all that matters.


What languages do you speak?


English, Krio


Krio is an English-based creole language that is the de-facto national language and lingua franca of Sierra Leone. It uses the Latin script with 3 additional letters from the African reference alphabet.


When writing Krio, I just sound it out in my head. I’m never really sure of the spelling because of the additional letters.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


How di body?


This literally translates to “How’s your body?” and it means “How are you?” in Krio.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


It’s a very beautiful, tropical country in West Africa. There are many beautiful beaches that I want to visit, including Tokeh and Lumley beaches.


Mining in Sierra Leone has been seen as one of the key factors for instability in the country and one of the reasons for the country's recent civil war. The Revolutionary United Front (RUF), a rebel army, caused an uprising against the government as they wanted control of the diamond mines. They were going to villages and killing people or kidnapping others as child soldiers or labourers in the mines. There were several interventions from the UN and a peace agreement was signed in 2002. It was a travesty as millions of people lost their lives.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


Idris Elba


One of the most famous British actors, he was given citizenship when he visited the country in December 2019. His dad is a Sierra Leonean.


Another famous person is Chadwick Boseman, who played Black Panther.


What is the best dish in your native country?


They are leaf stews known as plasas. Something special I add is crayfish powder. I would cook it once every 2-3 weeks.


​​Sierra Leone’s plasas, or palaver sauces, are stews made with various green leaves, and they're essential to the country's cuisine. The leaves are boiled and cooked with oil (usually red palm oil, but sometimes coconut or groundnut oil), hot chillies (aka “peppers”), onion, meat and/or fish, and ever-present stock cubes (such as Maggi), served over rice. To the uninitiated, the many types of plasas will seem interchangeable. But we are lumping them together here for convenience’s sake only: Each is actually prepared in a different manner, and has a distinct taste.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.

Comments


bottom of page