top of page

South Sudan 🇸🇸

Ester, 22


Born in Khartoum, Sudan and relatives are from Juba, South Sudan


Came to Australia in September 2003























How did we meet?


Ester and I were in the same team back when I worked at NAB in Servicing.


What is your occupation?


I work at Commbank as an Accounts Manager and am studying a Bachelor of Laws/Arts at Western Sydney University.


My goal is to become an international human rights lawyer in my own firm one day, otherwise, politics also interests me. Before all that, I would like to work for one of the big law firms in New York since the UN Headquarters are based there.


Why did you come to Australia?


My parents brought us here for a better life. Sudan was going through a civil war at the time, which is also the reason why South Sudan split and became its own independent nation in 2011. I came to Australia via Egypt but I don’t remember the journey at all as I was a baby.


The choice initially was between Australia and Canada. We ended up here so I can’t complain! I feel I’d have a similar life anyway in Canada if I ended up over there.


What do you like about Sydney?


I love the fact that everyone is familiar with one another. There’s a sense of belonging, hospitality and friendliness that I really appreciate.


The more I live here, the more I realise how lucky I am to be here. This is after travelling around the world; I was even stuck in Orlando, Florida during the ongoing pandemic before I luckily returned here.


Living in one of the world's biggest and most beautiful cities is a source of pride for me.


What don’t you like about Sydney?


There are pockets of racism that I simply cannot ignore.

For example, every time we go to the North Shore, I encounter this. People are mimicking African-American gangster slang or asking for photos of us because they’d never seen black people. It’s disappointing and frustrating to be affiliated with these negative stereotypes; there’s more to me than just my skin colour.


What would you like to say to Sydneysiders?


Remain humble and be true to yourself because you never know who you’ll come across in life.


One person’s story might drastically change tomorrow so the essence of humility is really important.


What languages do you speak?


Arabic, English, French, Swahili


Arabic- There are many different dialects and I speak South Sudanese Arabic, also called Juba Arabic. My tribe is from Equatoria province in South Sudan, and this is where it’s spoken.


During the pandemic, I have started learning Swahili and have also been brushing up on my French, which I started learning in high school. I want to move to Kenya someday within the next decade, and Swahili is one of the most prominent languages in Eastern Africa. It helps that my mother has relatives in Nairobi.


Teach us one word/phrase from your native language.


فضل


Fadal


It means welcome. We are very hospitable as South Sudanese people. People are always willing to help and lend a helping hand.


What is one thing you want us to know about your native country?


South Sudan has a lot of room for growth. With the right leadership, we can excel and reach our true potential. We are the world’s youngest nation and we are extremely resource-rich.


Generally, we’re very diverse as there are a lot of cultures and tribes. For example, we have 27 clans in Equatorial province alone. We are also home to the Dinka Tribe, often considered the tallest people in the world.


Who is the most famous person in your native country?


I would say Adut Akech.


She’s a really famous model and was voted “Model of the Year” by models.com in 2018 and 2019. I’ve had conversations with her over the phone but have yet to meet her in person.


She actually lived in Adelaide for a fairly long time before moving to New York for work.


Nyma Tang is also a very famous beauty vlogger on Youtube and I often watch her makeup tutorials.


I’m proud of the fact they’re representing South Sudanese women because they bridge that gap; these two are paving the way and showing that it’s okay to break out of traditional professions.


What is the best dish in your native country?


Ful medames.


Our cuisine is inspired by Mediterranean flavours. It’s a stew of cooked fava beans cumin, eggs, cheese and topped with chopped parsley, garlic, onion, lemon juice, chilli pepper and other vegetables, herb and spice ingredients.


Disclaimer: All posts are personal opinions and perspectives of the interviewees and are not a perfect representation of the whole country/experience.


Comments


bottom of page